Can Someone See a Pending Message on Snapchat?

Pending messages on Snapchat can be seen by the receiver once it gets delivered. Messages and snaps on Snapchat often show ‘Pending’ when the person (whom you’re sending the messages) did not accept your friend request. After the user accepts your request, he will be able to receive the pending messages.

Even if the user has unfriended you or removed you from his Snapchat’s friend list, then the messages wouldn’t get delivered to him rather it would show Pending. As soon as the user adds you back, the Pending tag will get changed to Delivered and he will be able to see the messages.

If the user has blocked you, your messages will not get delivered too. But when he unblocks you and re-adds you on Snapchat, the pending messages will be delivered to him.

expert statement

The pending messages that you send will expire after 30 days. Therefore, if the cause of the messages showing as pending is not resolved within 30 days of sending the messages, the person wouldn’t be able to receive or see the messages anymore.

There are a few things you should know about the pending meaning on Snapchat.

In this article, you’ll be able to know when someone can see the pending messages on Snapchat.

Why You’re Seeing ‘Pending’ after Sending Snap?

Below are the possible causes of why your sent messages are showing as pending:

1. Not Accepted your Request

Not Accepted your Request

You will see your messages or snaps that you send to another user are showing as Pending instead of Delivered when the user hasn’t accepted your friend request on Snapchat. If you’ve added the user, then Snapchat would send a friend request to the user from you. If the person doesn’t accept the request, rather rejects it or ignores it, your message would show Pending and will not be delivered until the person accepts your request.

You’ll find the text on the chat screen that says Your Snaps And Text Are Pending Until (User) Adds You As A Friend.

It’s also possible that the user has deleted his or her Snapchat profile, which is why your messages or snaps are not getting delivered to the user.

2. The Person Removed you/Unfriended

Often when the user unfriends you or removes you from his friend list, your messages won’t be delivered to him instead it would show as Pending. On Snapchat, if someone removes or unfriends you, Snapchat wouldn’t send any notifications for that. But you’ll be able to see that the messages that you’re sending to the user aren’t getting delivered and are showing as Pending.
Here are the steps to check whether this is the cause:

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: You’ll need to click on the Bitmoji icon and then scroll down the profile page to click on My Friends.

Click on the Bitmoji icon

Step 3: On the Find Friends box, search for the user.

Step 4: If the name of the user appears under your friend list, then he hasn’t removed you.

But if it doesn’t appear, it means that the user has removed you. Only when the user re-adds you, your message would be delivered to him.

3. Might have Blocked You

Another possible cause of why your messages aren’t getting delivered and are left as pending is that the person has blocked you on Snapchat. If the user has blocked you, then you won’t be able to find the person after searching for him on Snapchat. All the messages and snaps that you’ll send to the person will show Pending until he or she unblocks you.

You can check whether the user has blocked you or not by following the steps mentioned below.

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: Next, on the camera screen, click on the magnifying glass icon and then search for the user.

search for the user

Step 3: If you can’t see the user’s profile on the result list, then you can be sure that the user has blocked your account.

profile on the result list

You can also use your second Snapchat account to search for the user. If you can find the user from your second account and not from your first account, then it’s because he has blocked your first account on Snapchat.

How Can Someone See Pending Messages on Snapchat?

If you’re snap is pending then in certain conditions this can be seen.

1. Once Accepted Your Request

Only after the user accepts your friend request, your messages will be delivered to him and the Pending tag will turn to Delivered. After you add the user to your Snapchat, he or she gets the friend request under the Added Me section.
When the user accepts your friend request, you both get added to each other’s friend list. The user will be delivered with the past snaps and messages you’ve sent to him.

Steps to accept friend requests on Snapchat:

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: Click on the Bitmoji icon at the top left of the camera screen.

Click-on-the-Bitmoji-icon

Step 3: Next, scroll down the page to click on Add Friends.

 click on Add Friends

Step 4: Next, under the Added Me list, Accept the pending friend requests.

Added-Me-list

2. Once they re-add you as Friend

Once they re-add you as friends

If someone has removed you from their friend list, you’re no longer friends with that person and therefore, your messages would be kept Pending until the user re-adds you as friends.
When the user re-adds you on Snapchat, you’ll be able to receive a friend request from the user to add the user back again as your friend. Once the user re-adds you, your messages and snaps would get delivered to the person and the Pending tag would turn to Delivered.

When someone removes you from their friend list, they can again add you back by searching for you on Snapchat and then clicking on the +Add Friend button on your profile page.
Even from the Add Friends section, they can click on the Add button next to your name on the list and can re-add you back again.

3. Unblocks you and adds you again

If the user has blocked you, then the messages won’t be delivered to him unless he unblocks and re-adds you to his Snapchat profile. When the user unblocks you on Snapchat and re-adds you, the Pending messages would get Delivered to the person and he will be able to see it.

Here are the steps to unblock and re-add someone on Snapchat:

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: Click on the Bitmoji icon to enter the profile page.

Click on the Bitmoji icon

Step 3: Next, click on the Settings icon sighted as a wheel at the top right corner of the screen.

click on the Settings icon

Step 4: Scroll down the page to click on Blocked.

click on Blocked

Step 5: Unblock the user by clicking on the X sign next to his name.

clicking on the X sign

Step 6: Next, after coming back to the camera screen, search for the user and enter his profile page from the result list.

search for the user

Step 7: Click on the +Add Friend button to re-add the user.

4. All Pending Messages Are Not Delivered

All Pending Messages Are Not Delivered

When you send a message or snap to someone and it shows Pending, it means that it is not delivered to the user yet. Snapchat has a policy where the pending messages expire after 30 days after which the person would not be able to receive the snaps or messages anymore. Those messages expire on their own after being Pending for thirty days.

If the person has not accepted your friend request, he must accept the request within thirty days after the message is sent. Unless the user accepts the request within thirty days, the pending messages would expire from the chat screen.
Moreover, if the user accepts your friend request after thirty days of sending the messages, he or she will not be able to receive those messages anymore as they’ve already expired and hence lost.

Even if the person has removed you from his friend list, he or she needs to add you back before it is 30 days of you sending the messages on Snapchat.

Unless the person resolves the cause within thirty days of sending messages, the pending messages sent by you wouldn’t be Delivered rather it would expire.

The Bottom Lines:

This article explains all the causes and the solutions of when a person can see the pending messages on Snapchat. On Snapchat, your messages are kept on Pending when the person whom you’re sending it has not accepted your friend request, has removed you or unfriended you, or has blocked you on Snapchat.

But once he unblocks you, re-adds you, or accepts your request, the message will be delivered to the user and will not show as Pending anymore. However, it should be done within 30 days of sending the message, or else the messages will expire.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment