Can You See Who Blocked You On TikTok?

Your Quick Answer:

If someone happens to block you on TikTok, you can find out using specific indicators. You will not find their username or account on your Following list. You will not be able to view their videos in your feed.

You will also be unable to find them using the search button on TikTok. You will not be able to personally message them on the app or see any new updates from the individual.

To confirm if someone blocked you, you can go to your liked videos and see if you can find the video that you liked in the past. If it doesn’t appear, it means you have been blocked.

To find the liked videos, go to your TikTok app, click on the Profile icon, and then on the heart icon. This will open a tab at the bottom half of the screen showing your liked videos. 

You can also confirm if you have been blocked using your Following list. If a certain username that used to appear here no longer does, it means that you have been blocked.

To check your Following list, open TikTok and navigate to the Profile icon. Here you will find the “Following” option beside “Followers”.

What Will You See if Someone Blocks You on TikTok:

There you would notice these things on your TikTok profile:

1. You Would not Find Him on Following List:

following-list

When someone blocks you, their account completely disappears for you. If you had followed them, surely you may have noticed their account appear when you looked through your Following list. The following list is the list of people whom you have followed over the course of your time on TikTok and can be found under the profile icon.

When someone blocks you, their account disappears from this area. Thus it can be said that not finding an individual you normally used to find on your Following list is the indicator of their having blocked you from their account.

2. You Would not See his Videos:

When someone has blocked you, you won’t be able to see their videos anywhere. This means that their videos will not be there in your TikTok feed. If you have liked their videos in the past, they will not appear in your liked videos section of your account.

If you have commented on their videos, they will also have been gone. Even when you try to search for some hashtags that they might have used on their videos, you will find everyone else’s videos other than theirs. This is what makes this the ultimate indicator of having been blocked.

3. He is not Findable by Search on TikTok:

He is not Findable by Search on TikTok

A significant change that you will see on your account when an individual blocks you is that you won’t be able to find them. We usually use the search option available under the Explore page to type in usernames and find other TikTok users and even people we follow.

But when you use this to search for someone who has blocked you, things do not quite work out. When you click on enter after typing in their username, you will see that their account just does not appear. No matter how many variations of the username you type in, the results will be the same. Thus if this happened to you, you know you have been blocked. 

4. Can’t send Messages to Him:

He is not Findable by Search on TikTok

You cannot send messages to any individual who has blocked your account on TikTok. This is to ensure the safety of the person who has blocked you, as they may have done so for a reason, and is in tune with TikTok guidelines. If you try to text them, you will simply be shown that the account does not exist- instead of the information you have been blocked, ensuring the privacy of the person who blocked you.

Note: You can go to the direct messages section by clicking on the Inbox icon in the menu bar at the bottom of the screen. 

5. You Can’t See his New Updates:

Another commonly realized change you will see in your account after being blocked is that you won’t get any new updates from the individual you have been blocked. This means that when they upload a new video, it won’t appear in your feed area, which shows videos posted by people you follow.

You will also not see any notifications about their LIVE streams or any engagement whatsoever. If this is something that you have been facing recently, you have definitely been blocked.

How to Tell if Someone blocked you on TikTok:

Looking at the facts on their profile, you can assure what is happening there:

1. Search For Liked Videos uploaded by Them:

One of the ways to realize if someone has blocked you is to check the section of TikTok that contains all the videos you’ve liked. You may have obviously liked at least one of the videos of the person who has blocked you, which should appear in this section. If the video does not appear in Liked Videos, that’s a red flag. It is a clear indicator of the fact that they have blocked you. 

Here’s how you can see your liked videos:

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok app; you will be in the home menu. 

Step 2: On the menu bar at the bottom, click the rightmost icon. 

Tap-on-the-Me-tab

Step 3: You will be in the profile section with the videos you have posted appearing in the bottom half of the screen. Besides the option that is showing your videos will be another one symbolized by a heart. Click on it, and you will be in the liked videos section.

Click on Love icon

2. Check your Following List:

Another way to know for sure that you have been blocked is to check your Following list. If you followed the individual in the past, their account would have appeared here. However, blocking someone comes with unfollowing them. If you do not see their name appear in this section while scrolling or searching and you don’t remember having unfollowed them, it means they have blocked you. 

Here’s how you can reach the following list:

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok app from the home screen of your mobile device.

Step 2: Go to the Profile icon from the menu bar at the bottom of the screen. It is the one to the absolute right. 

Tap-on-the-Me-tab

Step 3: Below your profile picture, you will see three options. The first one of the three will say “Following”. Clicking on it will take you to the following list from where you can make out if you have been blocked.

Click on Following option
following-list

The Bottom Lines:

Now you know how to understand if someone has blocked you with the help of changes that will ensue in your account as a result of being blocked. You also now understand the steps to confirm such assumptions using the TikTok app, which hopefully has been helpful to you for your future use of the app. 

Also Read:

Leave a Comment