If you are finding it difficult to remember the password of your own Twitter account or just have forgotten it and you want to get it deleted permanently. You can do so without even actually logging into your Twitter account.
So if you think if you have a Twitter account that is no longer of use to you, you can permanently remove your old account. Sometimes, you may need to delete old that has no access so that your followers don’t get confused with your original account.
To delete a Twitter account that you can’t access, either you can reset the password for that account and manually proceed to deactivate the account or you can just go to Twitter support from another account and submit a report to delete the old account.
This article would be of great help to you if you are trapped in such a situation. All you have to do is keep reading and you will get all the quick and simple steps that will help you delete your old Twitter account that you are unable to access.
Delete an old Twitter Account you cannot Access
To delete your old Twitter account that you are unable to access,
- Step 1: Firstly, open your browser and open www.twitter.com.
- Step 2: Enter your username and password in the space provided to log in (if done, ignore).
- Step 3: On the timeline page scroll down at the bottom, to the left side of your screen you can see the ‘More‘ button. Click on it.
- Step 4: You will then see the ‘Settings & Privacy‘ option, click on it, and then from this option select the ‘Your Account‘ option.
- Step 5: Under this submenu, you will see the option to Deactivate your Twitter account at the bottom.
- Step 6: Click on the Deactivate button till your account is logged out on Twitter.
You can easily get your non-accessible Twitter account permanently deleted with the help of these steps.
How to Delete a Twitter Account without a Login?
If you are worried to delete your Twitter account when you don’t even remember its password. Well, you need not worry anymore, it is possible to delete a Twitter account without actually logging into the account.
All you need for this method is a friend who has his Twitter account and is willing to lend you their devices just for a few minutes to contact Twitter support.
Follow the steps and get going:
- Step 1: Once your friend allows you to use his Twitter account, you have to go to Twitter’s support & request page. You can do so by going to twitter.com
- Step 2: Request Twitter to terminate or delete your old account ubnder the File a Report option. Provide the details of your previous account like your account ID, this will make their work easier and will also prove that the account was yours.
- Step 3: When done with this, don’t forget to confirm your request to delete your old Twitter account.
If you can’t get into another’s Twitter account, you can simply create a new account and then follow these steps.
Deleting Twitter Account Permanently
Before you start, let me tell you that deleting and deactivating are two different things.
To delete your account means removing it permanently, it cannot be restored, while deactivation is that your account is invisible to all, even you. But yes, you can always reactivate within a certain period of time.
To remove your Twitter account,
- Step 1: Log in to your Twitter account by entering the correct user ID and password. Once you are logged in to your account, click on your profile picture, a drop-down will appear on your screen.
- Step 2: Go to the ‘Settings and privacy‘ option and then select the ‘Account‘ Option.
- Step 3: Scroll down and then click on the ‘Deactivate your account’. Read all the information about account deactivation and if you are sure about it, you can confirm your decision by clicking on the ‘Deactivate account’ button.
Your account is not immediately deleted, it temporarily freezes your account. If you don’t reactivate it within 30 days, it will automatically be permanently deleted.
Can you Reactivate your Twitter Account after 30 days?
Deactivating your Twitter account does not permanently delete it. Rather it temporarily freezes your account and makes it invisible to other Twitter users including you as well.
Whenever you desire to get back your old Twitter account you can reactivate it. However, there are a few things that you should keep in mind. You can always reactivate your Twitter account, but there is a limit to this. You can reactivate it within 30 days. If you fail to reactivate your account within 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted. The reverse period is limited to just 30 days.
After 30 days you cannot reactivate your Twitter account. The application allows you to completely delete only after the completion of 30 days, and that’s automatic. Twitter gives its users 30 days to take a firm decision, they can always revert within these 30 days.
The Bottom Lines:
This article explained the different ways that you can use to delete a Twitter account and the steps if you don’t have access to that account.
- Please Enter a Valid Phone Number on Twitter [FIXED]
- Twitter Username Availability Checker
- How to Find Twitter URL to Share on Instagram & Facebook?
- How to Find Someone’s Deleted Tweets on Twitter?
- How to Recover Deleted Twitter Messages?
- How to Delete Twitter Messages from Both Sides?
- How To Track Location of Someone’s Twitter Account?
- How to Tell if a Twitter Account is Deleted?
- How to Tell if Someone Else is Using Your Twitter Account?
- Is it Possible to View a Private Twitter Account?