How To Fix If Twitter Follow Limit Reached

Your Quick Answer:

To fix if Twitter follow-limit is reached, you’ll need to wait for 24 hours to follow new accounts.

When you follow too many accounts on Twitter without taking minimum intervals or crossing the maximum number of accounts that you can follow, you’ll get the error message that says Limit reached.

You can also log out of your account and then log in again to fix, if you find that it is not helping in fixing the following limit-reached issue, you’ll need to uninstall the app from the settings and then reinstall it from the App Store.

Twitter limits your account from following people when you violate the terms and conditions of Twitter by posting inappropriate content.

Even if you follow too many accounts without taking an interval in between, your account will be restricted.

When your account is not verified you can only follow 400 accounts in a day and verified accounts can follow  1000 new profiles.

The follow-limit lasts for twenty-four hours.

How to Fix if Twitter Follow Limit Reached:

There are some fixes you can try:

1. Wait For 24 Hours

You will find the Limit reached error message when you’ll try to follow more people after reaching the maximum limit for the day. When you’ll get this message you need to know that Twitter is informing you that you’ve followed too many users from your account on that day which is why you will not be able to follow more people unless you wait for some time more.

You’ll need to wait for 24 hours to try again and see if you can follow more people or not. This technique will most probably work as the Limit reached restriction is temporary and doesn’t stay after 24 hours which is when you’re again allowed to follow new accounts from your Twitter profile.

2. Log out and log in to Twitter

If you find that even after twenty-four hours, Twitter has not lifted the restriction from your account, you’ll need to log out of your Twitter account and then log in again.

This will help you to give your Twitter account a fresh start which can help in solving the previous glitches that the app was experiencing. Once you log out of your Twitter account, you’ll be taken to the login page of the Twitter app.

You need to input the login credentials on the login page and then get into your account. After getting in, check and see if you can follow Twitter profiles or not.

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the Twitter app.

Step 2: Click on the profile picture icon.

Click on the profile picture icon

Step 3: Then click on the Settings and privacy option.

Settings and privacy option

Step 4: You’ll need to click on the Your account option.

click on the Your account

Step 5: Next click on Account Information.

 click on Account Information

Step 6: Then you need to click on Log out.

 you need to click on Log out

Step 7: Click on OK.

Click on OK

You’ll be taken to the login page. You need to enter the login credentials and then click on the Login button to get into your profile.

3. Uninstall & Reinstall Twitter (iPhone)

Another method you can try to fix the issue of following limits being exceeded on Twitter is by reinstalling the Twitter app after uninstalling it. When you follow too many people on Twitter without taking breaks or intervals in between, it will appear as if your account is being handled by a robot or is under some bot control.

To protect your account, Twitter will restrict the follow option and you won’t be able to follow people.

However, if you delete the app and reinstall it again from the App Store, you’ll be able to lift the restriction away from your Twitter account.

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the Settings app.

Step 2: Click on General.

Click-on-General-1

Step 3: Then you’ll need to click on iPhone Storage.

click-on-the-iPhone-Storage

Step 4: Next, from the list of apps, find and click on the Twitter app.

Step 5: Click on the Delete App button.

Click on the Delete App

Step 6: Go to the App Store.

Step 7: Search for Twitter and install it.

 Twitter and install it

Step 8: Click on Open.

Then log in to your Twitter account with the login credentials.

Why Does Twitter Limit Following People:

These are might be the reasons:

1. You Violated Twitter T&C by Posting Illegal Stuff

You may wonder the reason for Twitter showing you the error message that says Limit reached. In most cases, this error message is shown to you when you have violated Twitter terms and conditions by posting illegal or inappropriate stuff on your profile.

On signing up for your Twitter profile, you agree to certain terms and guidelines of Twitter that you need to follow or else Twitter will restrict your account to warn you.

You Violated Twitter T&C

One such warning of Twitter is imposing restrictions on following people on Twitter. If you’ve posted inappropriate content on your account that has been reported by others your account will get restricted by Twitter. You’ll need to take down the post and avoid posting such inappropriate content or stuff so that you don’t get this restriction in the future.

2. You Have Followed Too Many People

Sometimes when you follow too many Twitter accounts within a very short duration without taking minimum intervals in between, Twitter sees this as suspicious activity.

Followed Too Many People

Following too many accounts in too short a time is a sign which raises the suspicion that your accounts might be handled by bots or have been hacked by others. To protect your account, Twitter imposed restrictions so that if your account has been hacked, the hacker will not be able to take much control over it.

When a new account on Twitter follows too many profiles, it gets more suspicious than the older ones. Mostly the new account owners who are not aware of Twitter policies get this kind of restriction.

3. Your Profile is Not Verified

If you are shown the error message that says Limit reached only after following 400 people from your Twitter account, you should know that it means you don’t have a verified account on Twitter.

Your Profile is Not Verified

The Twitter profiles which are verified can follow  1000 new accounts in a day whereas the non-verified profiles are allowed to follow only 400 profiles. But not all will be approved to have a verified Twitter profile because you’ll have to be a public figure and have a public account to get your account verified.

Mostly the pages or accounts of public figures, companies, organizations, and brands have a verified Twitter account. The ones who have a verified account get a blue badge next to their profile name.

🔯 What is Twitter Follow Limit:

Twitter has a follow limit of 400 when it comes to non-verified accounts. But if you have a verified account on Twitter, you’ll be able to follow up to 1000 Twitter profiles in a day. However, when you’re starting to follow many accounts on Twitter, remember to take short intervals in between so that your account doesn’t get restricted.

🔯 How Long Does Twitter Follow Limit Last:

Twitter follow limits or restrictions last for twenty-four hours after which you’ll be able to follow new accounts. The follow-limit restrictions get imposed on your account when you follow too many accounts or have exceeded the maximum number of accounts that you can follow in a day.

However, if you find that even after twenty-four hours, the restriction has not been lifted from your Twitter account, you’ll need to log out of your Twitter account and then log in again to restart it. If you find that nothing is helping in removing the restriction, you need to reach the Twitter help center for a solution.

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. What happens when I follow 5000 on Twitter?

When you try to follow 5000 people on Twitter at the same time or on the same day, Twitter finds it suspicious or sees it as a bot activity. It will immediately impose restrictions on your Twitter account and you’ll not be able to follow any Twitter profile for the next 24 hours.

2. Why Does Twitter Limit an Account?

Twitter limits your account when you violate the terms and policies of Twitter. Even when your account has been hacked or Twitter has suspected that your account has been compromised, it will limit your account. If you follow aggressive follow behavior or post inappropriate content it can cause your account to be permanently banned too.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment