Your Quick Answer:
Snapchat suggests friends based on whom you’ve added as friends so that it can check and find the friends of friends and then recommend them to you.
It also shows Snapchat suggestions based on the profile location. When you belong to a certain location or locality, you’ll be able to see that Snapchat is showing you suggestions of profiles who are from the same location.
It shows you the suggestions of those users with whom you’re added to Snapchat groups. It assumes that you’re connected or want to know each other more.
Snapchat also suggests people who have the same profile interest as you. You’ll be able to find users in the recommendations who match your likes and dislikes.
Lastly, it shows the users whose contact numbers you’ve uploaded from your phone book to the Snapchat app.
You can turn off the Snapchat friend suggestions button from the settings of the Snapchat app.
How does Snapchat suggest friends:
You can look at these things:
1. Your Added Friends & Friends of Friends
You may wonder how the recommendations of your Snapchat profiles are shown. Snapchat doesn’t follow a specific method to recommend or suggest to people to add but there are a few different ways that it uses. First of all, is friends of friends.
If you’ve recently added some users on your Snapchat, then Snapchat keeps a record of your activities and shows you a list of their friends as a recommendation to you for adding them.
It suggests the names of the friends of the user whom you’ve added assuming that you might know them in real life or you’re connected with them.
Even if you’ve accepted a few friend requests in the past few days, Snapchat will recommend some names as a suggestion of adding them by assuming that they might be connected to you too.
2. Based On Location Profile
Another way of Snapchat suggests profiles to users for recommendations and suggestions is by seeing the profile location.
Location-based profiles are shown in your suggestion section so that you can find the profiles of the users who are in the same area as you’re in.
Snap map records and updates your profile location continuously on Snapchat which is why Snapchat keeps a track of your profile location. In the Quick Add section, it shows some profiles that are from the same city, or same locality, or area.
This is shown with an assumption that given the fact that the location of these profiles is closer to one another, you might know each other or have the interest to know each other more.
You may find the profiles of your neighbors, flatmates, or school friends shown in the suggestions section. It indicates that the suggestions are shown based on the location of your profile. You can choose to add the user or ignore the suggestion if you wish to do so.
3. People on Group Chats
You will also see that on the suggestions list Snapchat will suggest you the names of the people with whom you’re in the same groups. Often you’re added to Snapchat groups by others where there are unknown or unadded members too. Snapchat keeps track of all the groups that you’re added to and it keeps a record of your group activities.
When you’re added to a group where some members are not on your friend list, Snapchat immediately recommends those profiles in the suggestions section so that you can add them to your Snapchat account and be friends with them. Here the Snapchat algorithm follows an assumption that when you’re in a group with some people, you may want to know each other more or want to check each other’s profiles or stories on Snapchat which is why it recommends you add the user on Snapchat.
All the users with whom you’re added to a group don’t need to be your friends on Snapchat, or you don’t need to add them on Snapchat if you don’t want it, however, Snapchat does make it easier to do so by recommending the profiles to us.
4. Shared Interests on Snapchat
Another way in which a Snapchat profile recommends a profile is by shared interest. It will recommend the profile of those users whose interests are similar to yours. When you have similar interests, the Snapchat algorithm assumes that you might want to know each other more which is why the profile is recommended to add.
You may find your school friends or college friends’ profiles in the recommendations list which means that you have the same interest or similar profile information which is why it is being shown as a suggestion. You may find some unknown profiles in the suggestions list but you don’t need to follow all those people.
5. Through Your Snapchat Contacts
When you upload your device contact on the Snapchat app, it gets synced on the app and then the accounts which are connected to those contacts get displayed in the suggestions list.
As these contacts are on your device, it is assumed that you know the user or you’re connected to them which is why the profile is recommended to you so that you can easily add the user without having to go through the trouble of searching and finding him all over again.
This helps you find the linked profiles of the contact that you’ve saved on your device.
🔯 Does Snapchat Suggest Mutual Friends:
Yes, Snapchat suggests mutual or friends of friends. When you add a new user or accept the request of any user on Snapchat, you’ll be able to find that you’re getting suggestions from other people who happen to be mutual friends or friends of friends with the user whose friend request you’ve accepted. In the Quick Add section, you’ll be able to see the suggestions of mutual friends.
How to turn off Snapchat friend suggestions:
Snapchat allows you to turn off friend suggestions. If you don’t want to get occasional notifications or any notifications about any mutual friends or others to add or follow the person, you need to turn off the switch from the Snapchat settings.
Here are the steps you’ll need to follow to turn off Snapchat friend suggestions:
🔴 Steps To Follow:
Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.
Step 2: Then log into your Snapchat account by entering the login credentials correctly.
Step 3: Next, you have to click on the Bitmoji icon from the top left corner.
Step 4: Then click on the settings icon from the top right corner.
Step 5: You’ll be taken to the settings page.
Step 6: Click on Notifications.
Step 7: Then uncheck the box that is next to Friend Suggestions from the list.
Step 8: The box will turn white.
You’ll need to come back to the previous page to save the changes.
Frequently Asked Questions:
1. What do hidden friend suggestions mean on Snapchat?
When you have someone’s contact number saved on your device phone book, and you’ve uploaded the contacts on your Snapchat profile, you’ll be able to get the linked profiles associated with the contacts in the Quick Add section.
When you choose to not add someone on Snapchat, despite having their phone number, the user becomes a suggestion on Quick Add and stays there until you add or remove him. This is called hidden friend suggestions.
2. If someone is on my Quick add am I on theirs?
There is a good chance that you’re also on the user’s Quick Add section especially if you’ve turned on the Quick Add feature so that others can find out on the Quick Add section. If you’re a mutual friend, have the same location, or share the same interest, there is a good chance that you are also in the Quick Add section of the user.
- What Happens If Someone Deactivates Their Snapchat
- Why Is My Snapchat So Laggy – FIXED
- How To Know If Someone Blocked You Or Deleted Snapchat
- How To Track Someone On Snapchat
- How To Recover Deleted Snapchat Account
- How To Find Phone Number From Snapchat Username
- How To Reopen A Snap More Than Twice
- How To Join A Private Story On Snapchat
- How To Reset Snapchat Password Without Email Or Number
- How To Stop Being Added To Snapchat Groups
- How To Send A Photo As Snap
- How To Hide Chat On Snapchat
- Will A Message Say Delivered If Blocked On Snapchat?
- How Long Do Snap Map Stories Last
- How To Change Avatar On Snapchat