How To Disable Replay on Snapchat?

Your Quick Answer:

  1. To disable replaying, after someone views your story for the first time, you can exclude him from seeing it again by excluding him from the custom list.
  2. If you don’t want some users to replay your stories on Snapchat, you can block them directly to prevent that. It will restrict them from seeing your stories as well as sending snaps and replies too.
  3. You can also set the Contact Me privacy as My Friends so that only your friends can send you messages, snaps, and replies to stories. No public, who are not on your friend list will be able to send messages to you on Snapchat.
  4. If you don’t want people to view your stories more than once, you’ll need to delete the story after it’s viewed for the first time.
  5. If you delete the story before 24 hours, the story wouldn’t be available to the viewers to be replayed again.

How to Disable Replay on Snapchat?

Snapchat allows users to replay stories they’ve already seen as many times as they want before it expires.

However, if you take the help of some tricks to set privacy in such a way that it will stop people from replaying a story on Snapchat.

Below you’ll find the helpful tricks that you can use to stop people from replaying stories.

1. Disallow People from Replaying Story

On Snapchat, you’ll be able to decide and set the privacy of who can see your stories on Snapchat. Snapchat allows users to keep their stories open to the public, limited to Friends only and even you can customize the list of people whom you want to exclude from seeing the Snapchat stories.

If you want to exclude someone from seeing your Snapchat stories, you can put the user under the Custom list. Even if you put the user under the Custom list after he has seen your story for the first time, he won’t be able to replay the story again. Further, he’ll be restricted from seeing your upcoming stories too.

If you want to stop some users from seeing your story more than once, you need to put them under the Custom list after they see the story for the first time. You need to keep checking whether the user has seen your story or not by seeing the viewers’ list. As soon as the user sees your story for the first time, you’ll need to restrict him from seeing it again by excluding him.

Here are the steps to exclude people from seeing your story:

Step 1: Open Snapchat.

Step 2: You’ll need to go to your profile page and then click on the Settings icon.

click on your Bitmoji icon
click on the Settings icon

Step 3: Next, click on View My Story and then click on Custom.

click on View My Story and then click on Custom

Step 4: You’ll need to tick mark the circle next to the users whom you want to exclude from seeing your stories and then click on Block.

your stories and then click on Block

2. Block the Person

If you want to stop somebody from repaying your stories you can block the person immediately after he sees your story for the first time. If you block a person on Snapchat they won’t be able to see your existing stories anymore nor they will be able to see or view your upcoming stories.

There’s no direct way that can help you prevent someone from replaying your story again and again on Snapchat as Snapchat doesn’t allow you to have that under your control. You only get to choose the audience of the story.

But here’s the trick that you’ll need to apply to stop replaying:

As blocking a person can restrict the user from seeing your story, you’ll need to post the story and then keep checking frequently if the person has seen or viewed the story or not. As soon as the person will view the story, you’ll be able to see his or her name on the viewers’ list. You’ll need to immediately block the user so that he can’t replay the story again.  After you block him on Snapchat,  he won’t be able to see your story again. Moreover, he will not be able to reply to your story or send you snaps on Snapchat too.

🔴 Steps to block someone:

Step 1: Open Snapchat.

Step 2: You’ll need to click on your Bitmoji icon to enter the profile page.

click on your Bitmoji icon

Step 3: Next, scroll down and click on My Friends.

click on My Friends

Step 4: From the My Friend list, search the user you want to block and then click and hold his or her name.

From the My Friend list

Step 5: Then click on More and click on Block.

click on More and click on Block

Who Can Contact You on Snapchat?

Snapchat lets you decide the audiences that can contact you via Snapchat. Here,  by contacting, Snapchat meant the sending of snaps, chats, and even calls.

If you don’t want to get replies or messages from unknown users who are not on your friend list, you’ll be able to do that by choosing the My Friends option.

As if you choose the Everyone option, it will enable the public to send you snaps, and messages, and even they’ll be able to see and reply to your stories if it’s set to the public.

Henceforth, to avoid that you’ll need to set the Contact Me privacy as My Friends, and nobody will be able to see your stories and reply to them except your friends.

Moreover, you also need to set the View My Story privacy as Friends only if you don’t want strangers to see your stories on Snapchat. If you set your story privacy as Everyone, it would be visible to the public. To avoid that, set it to Friends only.

Steps to set privacy for  who can contact you on Snapchat:

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: You’ll need to get into your profile page first to proceed with the method.

click on your Bitmoji icon

Step 3: Next, click on the Settings icon and scroll down the page.

click on the Settings icon

Step 4: Click on Contact Me.

Click on Contact Me

Step 5: You’ll need to set the privacy as My Friends. This will allow only the users who are on your friend list to reply to your stories, send messages and snaps on Snapchat to you.

privacy as My Friends

3. Delete Story initially after it is Viewed

If you don’t want people to replay your stories on Snapchat again and again, you can delete after they’ve seen those for the first time. Snapchat lets you post stories as well as decide its audience. But if you want to disable the replaying of Snapchat stories, you won’t be able to do that directly.

Therefore, you’ll need to check and find out who has seen it by looking at the viewers’ list, and then if all your targeted friends or audiences have seen it, you’ll need to delete it quickly.

When you’re deleting the story after they’ve seen it for the first time, the story won’t be available to be replayed again and they’ll not be able to see it more than once.

As a Snapchat story stays for twenty-four hours after which it expires, you’ll need to delete it manually before twenty-four hours to stop people from replaying it.

🔴 Steps to delete stories on Snapchat:

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: Next, you’ll find your Bitmoji at the top left corner of the camera screen has changed to the image that you’ve uploaded on Story. Click on it.

Step 3: Under My Story, click on your story and then swipe up to see the viewers’ list.

Under My Story, click on your story

Step 4: Next, click on the Bin icon at the bottom of the screen and then click on Delete.  

click on the Bin icon

The Bottom Lines:

This article explains all the best ways to disable the replaying of your stories on Snapchat. You can exclude people by adding them to the Custom list so that they can’t replay the story. You can also block the users to restrict them from seeing or replying to your stories.

You can set the Contact Me privacy as My Friends to prevent unknown users from replying to your stories as well as sending you snaps on Snapchat. You can also delete the story manually after it’s seen by your audience for the first time.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment