Home » Instagram » Do Message Requests On Instagram Expire?

Do Message Requests On Instagram Expire?

By Admin

✎ Key Takes:

» To fix the issue of Message Requests disappearing on Instagram, you need to turn on the Message Requests button for all. Instagram allows you to choose from whom and where you want to receive message requests.
» Therefore, if you turn on the message request option for your followers as well as for others on Instagram, you’ll be able to receive their message requests under the Requests category in the Instagram messages section.

Do Message Requests On Instagram Expire?

An unsent message, you’ve been blocked, the account has been deactivated, or you have started following the person.

It’s also worth mentioning that Instagram’s message request feature can sometimes glitch, causing messages to disappear and reappear unexpectedly.

If you notice that your message requests have disappeared, it’s essential to consider these possibilities. Firstly, check if you have sent any messages that were unsent by either you or the other person. Unsending a message can remove it from the message requests section. Secondly, verify if you have been blocked by the account. When someone blocks you, their message requests will no longer be visible to you.

In the case of a deactivated account, the user might have temporarily or permanently deactivated their Instagram account, resulting in the disappearance of message requests.

How to fix Instagram Message Request Disappeared:

There are the following methods to fix the message requests issue:

1. Check DM Requests Settings and Turn On all

On Instagram, you can choose the folder in which you want to receive the message request separately. You can also choose and decide from whom you want to receive the message request on Instagram. If you don’t turn on the Message Request settings for all, then you may not receive some of the requests sent to your account.

This can be done from the Privacy section of Instagram.

But if you don’t want to receive the message request from the non-followers on Instagram, you can turn off the Message Request button for the Other People on Instagram so that you don’t receive message requests from the non-followers.

Here are the steps you need to follow to turn on message requests for all:

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open Instagram.

Step 2: Next, log in to your Instagram account.

Step 3: Then click on the small profile picture icon that’s at the bottom right corner of the screen.

click on the small profile picture icon

Step 4: From the profile page, click on the three lines icon.

three-parallel-horizontal-line

Step 5: You’ll get a bunch of options from which click on Settings.

Settings-on-instagram

Step 6: Then, you need to click on Privacy.

Privacy-on-instagram

Step 7: Next, click on Messages.

click on Messages

Step 8: Click on Your followers on Instagram. Then turn on the Message Requests option on the next page.

Click on Your followers on Instagram

Step 9: Come back to the previous page and scroll down. Click on Others on Instagram. Then turn the Message Requests button that’s there too.

Click on Others on Instagram

Why Do The Message Requests Disappear On Instagram:

There are the following reasons:

1. The Person unsend the message

Often users on Instagram face the issue where messages request that they receive disappear from their profile. If you had a message request earlier but you’re not finding it now, it might be because the person has unsent it.

Disappearing message request is a common issue that is mainly caused when the user who had sent the message request unsent their sent messages. When the person unsent all the messages in the request, the request gets deleted too.

Although Instagram notifies you when someone sends you a message request, you won’t get any notification when the message request disappears or the user unsent the messages to delete the message request.

On Instagram, you can delete a message without leaving a trace of it. Therefore, even if the message request was sent to you long ago and you’ve not accepted it, then the user can unsent all the messages he has sent to you to delete the message request.

Click on Unsend

2. You’re Blocked by the person

When the user who had sent you the message request blocks you on Instagram, then the message request disappears too.

Normally, the chats you’ve had with any of your followers remain even after you’re blocked by them. But in the case when someone blocks you after they’ve sent you a message request on Instagram, it gets deleted too and you won’t be able to find their profile on Instagram either.

When you’re blocked by someone on Instagram, you’re not allowed to send messages to that user anymore. If you try to get into their profile from the chat screen, it will appear blank. You won’t be notified that the user has blocked you directly, but you can get a hint of it from these clues.

Similarly, if you can’t find someone’s message request, you can search for the user on Instagram to see if you find his profile or not. If you find the profile then you can be sure that the user has not blocked you, but if you don’t find it, you need to know that the user has blocked you.

3. Temporary bugs on App

You can also face the issue of disappearing message requests when the Instagram application is facing temporary glitches. App bugs are common when it comes to Instagram. Many times, Instagram fails to work properly due to temporary glitches that generally get fixed when you refresh the pages or wait for a few hours.

If you’re unable to see the pending message requests on your Instagram profile, drag and pull the message page down to refresh it. If it’s all glitched out, then refreshing the page will fix that and you’ll be able to see all the pending message requests under the search bar of the message page again. 

Only because of temporary glitches, do the Message Requests disappear for some time and then reappear again when the glitches get fixed.

4. Account is deactivated: who sent the message

If the user who had sent you a message request, deactivates his Instagram account from where the request was sent, then the message request would disappear too.

This means that you won’t find the request on your Instagram profile anymore nor will you be able to find the account. As the account has been deactivated, you won’t find the account by searching for it unless the account is reactivated by the owner again.

If he has sent you a message request on Instagram before deactivating the account, it would automatically disappear as soon as the user deactivated the account. You won’t receive any separate notifications about it either.

Share This Article:

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!