How Do You Know If A Snapchat Is A Group Message

Your Quick Answer:

To know if it’s a Snapchat group, you’ll need to look for the messages and snaps sent in the group. On a Snapchat group, multiple users can send messages and snaps.

Snapchat group icons are different from personal profile icons. If you see a sparkle or a friend emoji next to the group name, it’s a Snapchat group.

When you send a message on a Snapchat group, you can click and hold the message to see who has read it.

All the members of a Snapchat group don’t necessarily have to be friends with you. Rather you’ll also find some members of the group who are not on your friend list.

You can leave a Snapchat group anytime you want by tapping on ‘Leave Group’. The group, along with all the previous chats of the group would be deleted from your profile after you leave it.

You should know that if you want to ignore someone from that group then you have a few indirect steps to remove those people from the Snapchat group.

🔯 Can You Chat Personally with those People on Group Chat?

Yes, you can chat personally with the members of the Snapchat group in their private inboxes. Like other social media apps, Snapchat allows users to make groups for chatting. A minimum of three members are needed including the creator of a group to form a Snapchat group.

When you’re in a Snapchat group with other Snapchat users, you don’t need to have to chat with them only in the group chat, rather you can personally message them in their private inbox too to converse with them personally.

You can chat with the group members personally by clicking on the group icon, and then by clicking on their names under the Group Members list to open up the private inbox.

Not all the members of a Snapchat group will belong to your friend list, but you can add them by clicking on the + Add button next to their names.

The +Add button will only appear next to those members’ names who are not on your Snapchat friend list.

How Do You Know If A Snapchat Is A Group Message:

You have to look at the few things below to know if that is a Snapchat group.

1. Everyone Sending Snaps

You can be sure that it’s a group conversation and not a private chat by seeing the messages and snaps sent by multiple users on the chat screen. Moreover, just above the text box, you’ll be able to see the names of multiple users who are members of a particular group.

When you send a snap or message to a group conversation, it can be seen and replied to by all the members of the group. You’ll be able to see the Group Members list too, seeing that you can be sure that it’s a group conversation where you’re in the same group with many other users.

snapchat group

Once you send a message or snap in the group, it reaches all the members of the group. The message sent by you would have the Me sign next to them.

Likewise, when somebody who’s a member of the group sends a message or snaps in the group, you along with other members can see or read it.

You’ll be able to know who has sent the snap or message in the group chat by seeing the user’s name next to his or her messages.

2. Friend Emoji on Chat

To find out if it’s a Snapchat group, you’ll need to look for the group icon next to the name.

For the group icons, if you find a sparkle or friend emoji of other friends, you’ll be able to know that it’s a Snapchat group.

Friend Emoji on Chat

The group icons are different from the personal profile icons, seeing which you’ll be able to find out that it’s a group. Personal profile icons are mostly the Bitmoji of that profile but when it’s a group, you’ll find sparkle or a friend emojis displayed next to the group name.

Even for the groups, you’ll be able to edit and change the group name and add other people to it.  To change the group name, you’ll need to open the group chat and then click on the group icon. On the next page, you’ll be able to see the group name at the top of the page, click on it, change the name and then Save it.

 There’s also an Invite Via Link feature for Snapchat groups, that can be used to invite people to join the Snapchat group using the link that you’ll share.

3. You can Leave the Chat

When you’re in a group chat with other users on Snapchat, you can leave the conversation whenever you wish to do so. Snapchat allows users to leave group conversations even if the group has been created by that user. No matter who’s the creator of any Snapchat group, you are always allowed to leave the conversation after which the group messages will be automatically cleared.

After you leave any Snapchat group, you won’t be able to find the chats of that group anymore as they would disappear from your profile. You won’t be able to get it even if you search for the group using the group name.

The private conversations don’t have any such feature where you can leave the chat but for the Snapchat groups, the members are allowed to leave the groups by exiting from it.

When you leave a group, the other members would be able to know about it from seeing the text on the chat screen saying (User) Left The Group.

🔴 Steps To Leave Snapchat Group:

Step 1: Open Snapchat.

Step 2: Swipe right from the camera screen to enter the chat section.

enter the chat section

Step 3: Click and open the group chat.

the group chat

Step 4: Next, click on the group icon.

click on the group icon

Step 5: On the next page, you’ll find a three dots icon on the right side of the screen. Click on it.

 three dots icon on the right side

Step 6: You’ll need to click on Leave Group to exit from that group.

click on Leave Group to exit

4. You Can See who Reads the Chat

You’ll be able to find out that it’s a Snapchat group by seeing who reads the messages sent by you. When you send a message to any Snapchat group, you’ll be able to find out who the members have viewed the message sent by you.

If you want to find out who has read the messages sent by you in a Snapchat group, you’ll just need to click and hold the message for two seconds.

It will immediately pop up in a white box. On the white box, it will display the message sent by you and below it, you’ll be able to see the name of the members you have seen the message. If it shows Seen by Everyone, you’ll be able to know that all the members have seen it.

click on the group icon

You can even react to all the messages sent in the group including the ones sent by you. To do that, you’ll need to click and hold the message that you want to react to and then click on any reaction option that appears on the white box.

Read receipts are only shown for group chats on Snapchat. For the messages sent in the personal inbox of any user, you’ll not be able to see if the user reads them or not.

5. You’ll See People, not on Your Friend List

Another way to identify that it’s a Snapchat group is to check for the Group Members list. Every Snapchat group has a Group Members list where you’ll be able to see the names of the participants of the group. You’ll find that next to a few or maybe many names, there is a +Add button in blue color. Seeing the + Add button you’ll be able to understand that those members are not on your friend list.

The members of the group who are already on your friend list on Snapchat, will not have the + Add button next to their names but it won’t show anything there.

However, if you want to add them you’ll just need to click on the + Add button next to their names to add them. Clicking on will send a friend request to the user. If he or she accepts your request, the user will be added to your friend list.

Moreover, when someone is creating a Snapchat group and adding others, he or she can only add those users who are on their friend list. If someone’s not on your friend list, you won’t be able to add them to a new Snapchat group.

The Bottom Lines:

You’ll find multiple people are sending messages and snaps in the group. The Snapchat group has sparkle or friend emoji next to the group name. You will get the option to leave the group, and see who has read your messages only when it’s a group.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment