Shared photos are the pictures that you’ve sent to your friends on Messenger while chatting with them.
But you can delete them too even if they’ve seen the picture on Messenger. Facebook allows users to delete any previously sent pictures in chat even after it has been a long time since the picture was sent.
You can either delete the picture by undoing the send or by removing it from you. If you unsend it for ‘Everyone‘ then the picture will be deleted from your end as well as from the receiver too. But if you wish to delete it only from your end, you’ll need to remove it from your chat screen by tapping on the ‘Remove for you‘ option.
☛ Although, for text messages, you can also just remove the messages from both sides on Messenger.
These two kinds of deletion can be performed using both the mobile app of Messenger as well as from Messenger on PC. If you’re using the mobile application, you need to tap & hold the picture to get onto the option of Unsend or Remove for you.
However, if you’re using Messenger.com, you’ll need to point your mouse at the old shared picture, and then click on the three dots icon to Remove it.
In this article, you’ll be able to know the exact steps to delete shared photos on Messenger.
What are the shared photos on Messenger?
The shared photos on Messenger are the pictures that you send someone while chatting with them.
Facebook’s Messenger platform is used for chatting with friends. Like any other social media messaging platform, any Facebook user can use Messenger to send and receive messages from friends. You can send text messages, pictures, and audio messages too on Messenger. It also supports voice calls and video calls like other platforms.
The pictures that a user sends on Messenger to his or her friends can be deleted or removed from the chat screen too. If you’ve received any pictures from Messenger you can even save them to the gallery so that you can view them from your photo album on your device.
1. Delete Shared Pictures on Messenger for All
You can delete the pictures that you’ve sent previously to some of your friends while chatting. You can perform the deletion process by using the application of Messenger or from Messenger on PC.
Facebook allows the users to remove the pictures that have been sent previously. If the sender has sent a picture by mistake, it not only needs to be deleted from the sender’s side but from the receiver’s side too, that is when the sender needs to use the Unsend option to delete it. If you unsend any old shared picture, you’re not only deleting it from your end but from the receiver too.
Steps to Unsend Messages on App:
If you want to delete a previously sent picture from both sides( sender and receiver), you can follow the following steps to do it:
Step 1: Open the Messenger application on your device.
Step 2: You’ll be able to see the chat list displayed on the main interface.
Step 3: Search or scroll down the list and click on the chat from where you want to delete shared pictures.
Step 4: As soon as the chat window opens, you need to scroll up and find the shared picture that you need to delete.
Step 5: Tap & hold the picture for a few seconds, it will show you with the Remove option at the bottom of the screen.
Step 6: Next, tap on Unsend and the picture would be deleted from your chat window as well as from the receiver. The old shared picture has been unsent from both sides.
Steps to Unsend shared pictures on Messenger for PC:
Step 1: You’ll need to go to Messenger.com and log in to your account using the login details of your Facebook account. It will open up your Facebook accounts Homepage.
Step 2: You’ll need to click on the chat from where you want to delete the shared picture.
Step 3: Scroll up to find the picture and point your mouse at the picture.
Step 4: Just to the left of the picture, you’ll find a few symbols. Click on the three dots symbol to proceed.
Step 5: It will display you with two options, click on Remove.
Step 6: Messenger will show you two different options of Unsend for everyone and Remove for you.
Step 7: You need to select the first one i.e Unsend for everyone, and then click on the blue Remove button and you’re good to go.
2. Delete Shared Photos on Messenger – From Your End
If you’ve sent pictures to your friend on Messenger, you can remove that too without letting him know. To delete it just from your end, you need to choose the remove option.
You can remove any shared photos from Messenger using both Android and PC. On PC you need to use Messager.com to delete any previously sent pictures from your end. However, when you’re using your mobile, you need to use the Messenger application.
Removing the picture doesn’t delete it from the receiver, but only removes it from your chat window.
Steps to Delete Shared Photos using Messenger:
If you need to remove your old or previously shared pictures on Messenger, you can use the Messenger app to do it.
The steps that you need to follow are mentioned below:
Step 1: Open the application of Messenger.
Step 2: You’ll need to use the search box and search for a friend whose chat you want to click.
Step 3: After you find the chat conversation of the user from where you need to delete a photo, tap on it to open the chat window.
Step 4: You’ll have to scroll up, then tap & hold the picture you want to delete.
Step 5: Next, you’ll see the Remove option at the bottom of the screen. Tap on it.
Step 6: Then, you need to click on Remove for you to delete it from your chat window. It doesn’t affect or delete the picture from the receiver.
Steps to Use Messenger for PC:
If you want to delete some shared pictures from your end using the PC, you need to use Messenger.com to do it.
Here are the steps you need to follow:
Step 1: Use your browser to open Messenger.com on PC.
Step 2: You’ll be asked to login into your Messenger account using the details of your Facebook account.
Step 3: As the chat list opens up, click on the chat from where you’ll need to delete the old shared photo.
Step 4: Scroll up the chat to find the old shared picture. As soon as you find it, you need to point the mouse at the picture.
Step 5: You’ll be able to see the three dots icon on the left side of the picture. Click on it.
Step 6: Next, click on Remove.
Step 7: Then, select the option Remove for you and click on the blue Remove button.
This will delete the picture from your end.
Can you Delete Old Shared photos on Messenger?
You can delete the photos you’ve shared on Messenger with your friends while chatting. The old shared pictures that you’ve sent earlier can be seen by you if you scroll up the chat screen.
Messenger is quite flexible when it comes to deleting old shared pictures. You can delete old shared pictures even if it has been a long time since then.
Note: It allows two kinds of deletion of the old shared photos, one is Unsend and another is Remove. If you delete the old shared pictures for everyone, they will be deleted from both the sender as well as the receiver. But if you choose to remove it, you’ll be able to delete the picture only from your end.
The Bottom Lines:
This article explained the different effective methods to delete shared photos from Facebook Messenger. Old shared pictures are the photos that you’ve sent previously to your friends while chatting with them on Messenger. However, you can delete them using the Messenger app as well as from Messenger.com on PC following different methods explained above in this article.
- How to Fix ‘Confirm Your Identity’ on Facebook?
- How to Recover Suspended Facebook Account?
- How to Fix if Facebook Two-Factor Authentication Code not Received?
- This account is also logged into Facebook on this device – FIXED
- How to Unlink Facebook from Instagram?
- How to Poke Someone on Facebook?
- How to Recover your Facebook Account without Email or Phone?
- How to Make All Photos Private On Facebook at Once?
- How to Hide and Unhide Messages on Facebook Messenger?
- How to See Who Viewed Your Featured Photos on Facebook?