How To Recover Deleted TikTok Account

Your Quick Answer:

To recover your deleted TikTok account, you can do this by reactivating your account. You will have to open the app, go to the “Me” icon, and tap on “Sign Up”.

In the next tab, you will see “Already have an account? Login” at the bottom of the screen. Tap on it and tap on “Use phone / email / username”. Log in using your username or email and password.

Once you are logged in, you will notice an option that tells you your account is deactivated, and you can either log out or reactivate your account. Tap on the option “Reactivate” to reactivate your account successfully. 

You can also reactivate your account if you don’t remember the password; you just have to open the app, go to the “Me” icon, click on “Sign Up” and “Already have an account? Login” and select the option that will help you log in using your email ID or username. Click on the email ID section next and tap on “Forgot password?”. 

Then click on the phone number option and type in your phone number. Type the OTP you will receive and reset your password by typing in a new one and selecting “Login”. 

🔯 Deactivation Vs Permanent Deletion on TikTok:

There is a significant difference between deactivating your TikTok account and permanently deleting it. While deactivating your account makes it unavailable for the public to view, it remains stored in TikTok’s data. In the case of the latter, however, all the data related to your account is deleted for a permanent period. Your username will be available for anyone to use as your account no longer exists. 

When you are deactivating your account, you will notice that you will be given a 30-day period during which you can reactivate your account. This can be done simply by logging in to your account. After the 30-day period, your account will automatically be deleted for a permanent period. This means that you will no longer be able to have access to this account. You won’t be able to successfully log in with your existing credentials. 

This is also why this 30-day period is so crucial since if you decide to reactivate it, but the duration has passed, it is unlikely that you will be able to use the account ever. 

However, if your goal is to delete your account permanently, logging in to your account in between the 30 days period will reactivate the account, and you’ll have to wait another 30 days before your account is permanently deleted.

How to Recover Deleted TikTok Account:

Try the below methods:

1. Cancelling TikTok Deactivation:

Follow the below steps:

Step 1: Open TikTok

If you are trying to cancel your TikTok account’s deactivation, the first step you have to follow is to open the TikTok app from the home screen of your phone by tapping on the app icon. In case you have deleted the TikTok app because your account was deactivated, this is the time to reinstall the app. You will find the menu bar at the bottom of the screen, and the option on the complete right will say “Me”. Tap on this icon. You will get an option here to sign up. Click on the “Sign Up” option. 

profile-page-on-tiktok-me-icon

Step 2: Login on TikTok

Once you have clicked on the “Sign Up” option, you will be taken to a new screen. At the bottom of the screen, there will be an option that says, “Already have an account? Log in”. You have to click on this. There will be various options to log in, for example, using your Google account or Instagram. Suppose you want to log in using your TikTok username. Then, click on the option “Use phone / email / username”.

Click on Login

You will then have to log in to your TikTok account using your account details.  

Click on rite icon

Step 3: Tap on ‘Cancel Deactivation’

As soon as you are logged in, a notification will fill the screen informing you that your account is deactivated. You can either choose to reactivate it or log out. Since you wish to reactivate your account, click on the option “Cancel Deactivation” at the bottom of your screen. As a result of this, your account will be reactivated, and you can use it as you used to.

Click on Reactivate

Note: Make sure to remember that it will take some time before your account’s data is restored. This depends on your Internet speed as well as the server.

2. Resetting The Password:

Sometimes we forget our account details, such as our password, which may cause difficulty logging in. In that case, you can use the method presented down below and reset your password. 

Step 1: Open TikTok and tap on Login  

The first step you must follow to reset your TikTok account password is to go to your phone’s home screen, look for the TikTok app icon, and click on it. Once your app is open in front of you, tap the “Me” option at the complete right end of the bottom part of the screen. You will be asked to “Sign In”. Click on it and click on “Already have an account? Log in”. Click on the option that will allow you to use your phone number, email, or password to log in. 

Step 2: Tap. on ‘Get help Singing in’

Once you are on the login page, you will be in the phone number section; go to the “Email/ Username” section. You will see options to type in email or username and password. You will notice an option that says “Forgot password?” at the bottom of the screen. You have to click on it. This will help you change your password in a hassle-free manner. Tapping on “Forgot password?” will lead you to a new tab eventually from where you can reset your password.

Tap. on 'Get help Singing in'
Select phone number

Step 3: Enter Phone Number & Reset Password

Select the phone number option to get a verification code to your phone number Tiktok knows that it’s really you trying to get back your account and not a hacker. In the next tab, type in your phone number and wait for the OTP. Once you receive the OTP, type it into the app and reset your password by typing in a new one and tapping on login. You will be logged in to your account automatically. Thus your password will be reset. 

Click on Send Code
Enter six digit otp

Note: Try not to use this method too much in a short span of time since the TikTok Algorithm might take this as unsolicited behavior and log you out of your account.

Click on Login

The Bottom Lines:

Therefore, now you know the stark difference between deactivating and permanently deleting your account and how to reactivate your TikTok account and reset your password in case you have forgotten it. Ensure a good network connection to speed up the account restoration process after you have reactivated your account. 

Also Read:

Leave a Comment