Your Quick Answer:
- Users with a public Facebook account have stories that can be viewed even by those accounts that aren’t under the friends’ list.
- The non-friend viewers of the story are categorized as Other Viewers and their profile names aren’t directly revealed by Facebook.
- You can only see the number of Other Viewers and not the names specifically. But you can guess these viewers from the received friend requests section.
- You can control accounts other than your Facebook friends from viewing your Facebook story by changing the story’s privacy to Friends.
- After you change the privacy, your stories won’t be visible to users that are not on your friend list and you won’t see the other friends option under your story.
- If a Facebook friend of yours blocks your account after viewing your story, their name will go missing from the list of viewers and it will be displayed as the number of viewers. i.e. 1 viewer.
In this article, you’ll be able to know about all the effective methods to understand the other viewers of Facebook stories.
Why Someone’s Name is Missing from Viewers?
When a Facebook friend of yours has blocked you on Facebook right after she or he views your story, the name of the user will go missing from the viewer’s list and instead of displaying the name, it would be counted under the other viewers and it will display as 1 viewer instead of showing the name.
When you’ve put up a story after changing the privacy but you’re still seeing 1 viewer under your story, it means that one of your friends has blocked you out of their account or you’ve blocked him, which is why their name is missing from the list of viewers and is presented by number.
So now, you won’t be able to view their profile name instead it will be shown as the number of other viewers.
What are the Other Viewers on Facebook Story?
Facebook accounts that have viewed your story and if they’re not on your friend list, are placed as other friends. The Facebook stories uploaded by the Facebook user who has a public account can be seen by all.
The Facebook users who are viewing the story but aren’t friends with the user are put under the category of other friends.
- Facebook has the feature where you can make your story available to be seen by everyone by switching the story’s privacy to Public.
- Therefore, when you’ve put up a Facebook Story with the privacy settings set as Public, it can be viewed by Facebook accounts that are in your friend list as well as not in your friend list.
- When your account is Public or your story is set to Public, people who aren’t friends with you but follow you on Facebook can see your story. These followers are marked as Other Viewers of your Facebook story. Although you won’t be able to see their names or profiles.
This is a feature available for the public profiles of Facebook where the non-friend users who are viewing Facebook stories are categorized under that section.
How To See other Viewers on Facebook Story?
If you want to see other viewers of your Facebook story, try the following methods:
1. Open Story and See the Viewers
You can see the total number of viewers after opening the Facebook story you’ve uploaded. The number of Other Viewers is displayed at the bottom section of your story viewers list. Facebook doesn’t reveal the names of those Other Viewers specifically, but you will be able to see the total number of people who have viewed your story, those who are not friends with you on Facebook.
When your story privacy is set to public, your story can be seen by the followers who are not from your friend list. You’ll be able to see how many of these followers have viewed your story on Facebook but Facebook doesn’t disclose the names of those followers, therefore you can only find out the number of accounts who have viewed your story but aren’t friends with you on Facebook.
Facebook doesn’t display the names or profiles of those Other Viewers, therefore you won’t be able to see the profiles of those other friends.
The steps below will guide you to look for those people on Facebook:
Step 1: Open the Facebook application.
Step 2: Click on Create Story to upload a story after making sure that the privacy is set as Public.
Step 3: Next, as the story has been uploaded, wait for a few minutes, then click on the story from your profile.
Step 4: Below the story, you’ll be able to see a number of viewers (Other Viewers) who aren’t from the friend list but have viewed your story (as your profile is public).
2. See your Friend Requests
You can check the Friend Requests section to find out the received friend requests. The friend request that you’ve received might be that of those profiles who are viewing your Facebook story.
As Facebook doesn’t reveal the names of the Other Viewers because of privacy reasons, you won’t be able to know the profile names of those viewers.
But, there are pretty good chances that the accounts who’ve sent you friend requests are viewing your Facebook story without getting their names revealed.
When you have set the story privacy as public, Facebook profiles who aren’t on your friend list can view your stories too. Therefore, it’s possible that the users who have sent you friend requests are viewing your Facebook story without revealing their names.
You can delete the requests of unknown users and also block them on Facebook so that they can no longer see your Facebook story.
As soon as you block them, they won’t be able to find your profile on Facebook again and therefore will not be able to view your story too.
How to Prevent Others from Viewing your Story?
You can prevent accounts other than your Facebook friends from seeing your story. To do that you need to change the Privacy of your story to Friends.
Whenever you post any story with the privacy settings changed to Friends, that particular story won’t be available for the public to view. Only Facebook accounts that are under your friend list can view that story, i.e only your Facebook friends can view the story and none else.
If you want to prevent the non-friend accounts from seeing your Facebook story, you need to change your story privacy. You’ve to set it to Friends so that only your Facebook friend would be able to view it.
The steps have all the mentioned details to change your story’s privacy:
Step 1: Go to the Profile Archive section.
Step 2: Click on the gear icon.
Step 3: On the following page, change the story’s privacy to Friends by clicking on the second option and then post the story.
The Bottom Lines:
This article explained all the methods to view other viewers on the Facebook story. When you have got a public Facebook account and your story’s privacy is set to Public, users other than your Facebook friends can view your story which is categorized as other friends.
When a Facebook friend, right after viewing your story, blocks your account, they get shifted to the other viewer category and their name goes missing from the list of viewers.
- How to Fix Facebook Dark Mode is not Working?
- How to Fix ‘Confirm Your Identity’ on Facebook?
- How to Recover Suspended Facebook Account?
- How to Fix if Facebook Two-Factor Authentication Code not Received?
- This account is also logged into Facebook on this device – FIXED
- How to Unlink Facebook from Instagram?
- How to Poke Someone on Facebook?
- How to Recover your Facebook Account without Email or Phone?
- How to Make All Photos Private On Facebook at Once?
- How to Hide and Unhide Messages on Facebook Messenger?