Does Snapchat Location Update In The Background

Unlike Google maps which updates the location in the background, Snapchat doesn’t update your location in the background. The only way your location can get updated by the Snapchat app to the snap map is if you open the app.

A newly updated location can last from 5 to 8 hours if the user does the update or open the app after that. If you want to update your snap map location, you need to open the Snapchat application and then your location would be automatically updated by the application, provided you’re not on Ghost Mode and your Location Services are kept on.

Does Snapchat Update Location in Background?

If you’re worried about your location being exposed here are a few facts about Snapchat’s location update that might help you.

◘ Snapchat doesn’t have records of your real-time locational details. It doesn’t broadcast your live location on the map. Therefore there’s no way someone can track you using it.

◘ Your location on the Snap Map that is seen by your friends is the last updated location and if you’ve not opened the application after that then your current location is still unknown.

◘ Moreover, you can’t just see anybody’s location on the snap map. The person whose location you’re trying to see should be on your friend list. Therefore, if you both are friends with each other on Snapchat, you’ll be able to see the location each other on the snap map.

◘ If you want to remove the last updated location but do not turn on the Ghost Mode, you need to leave the app unopened for 6 to 8 hours and it would disappear on its own.

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. How Does Snapchat Location Update Work?

Whenever you open Snapchat, this app updates your location if you’ve turned the location services on to share it with people.

If you want Snapchat to update your location you’ve to make sure that your location services or GPS of your device are on. This doesn’t show real-time location but sticks your Bitmoji to your last location until you open the app again. After you open the Snapchat app again, it gets to update the location.

There are certain ways to tell if someone is active on Snapchat.

Therefore, when you’re seeing someone’s location on the Snapchat map, it’s actually the last location of the user that Snapchat has updated when he or she opened the app earlier.

An updated location stays for 8 hours. If the user does not open the Snapchat app within eight hours of updating the last location, the location would disappear entirely from the snap map. Again, when the user opens the Snapchat application, the app will immediately update the location of the user.

As Snapchat doesn’t report or show the real-time location of users, there’s no risk of your privacy getting hampered. But if you don’t want to share your location, you can simply turn on the Ghost Mode on the app.

Although, you have a few apps to track the Snapchat location of users.

Here are the steps to turn on Ghost Mode on Snapchat:

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: Next, get into your profile page and click on the Settings icon.

click on the Settings icon

Step 3: Scroll down the page to find the option See My Location. Click on it.

option See My Location

Step 4: You’ll need to toggle on the button next to Ghost Mode to enable it.

2. What Does the Time on Snapchat Map Mean? (Seen Just Now)

The time on the Snap map shows you the online status of the user. When you see Seen Just Now it means that the user is currently using the Snapchat app and is online. Often it specifies the exact minutes before which the user was online on Snapchat for example Seen 43m ago. It shows you that the user was recently online but is currently offline.

You can also use a few steps to know who viewed your location on Snapchat.

When someone on Snapchat is using the Snapmap feature and hasn’t turned on the Ghost Mode, Snapchat records its location as well as the last seen or online status on the Snapmap.

 Therefore, if you want to see someone’s online status or last seen time, you’ll just need to click on the snap map button to get into the Snap map screen and then click on the Bitmoji of the friend whose online status or last seen you want to see. If you see Just Now, it indicates that the user is online on Snapchat. But if it specifies the time, then you should know that the user was not online but he’s currently offline. The time shown on the snap map indicates the last time the user was online on Snapchat.

If you don’t want someone to see your online status or location, you can change the privacy settings to hide it from certain audiences.

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: You’ve to head to the Settings page and then scroll down to find the option See My Location.

See My Location

There, you’ll be able to choose your audiences who can view your location on the snap map of Snapchat.

3. Why is Someone’s Snap Location not Updating but They are Snapping?

If Snap Map is not updating the Snap locations and time on Snapchat, it is because when the user has turned off the Location services or the GPS on his device.

Often when you don’t find a Snap map updating your snap location, you need to first check your Location services to turn it on. After turning the location services on, open the snap map to let the app update your location.

But if the Location Services is on but still you’re experiencing this issue, you need to fix it. When the snap map isn’t recording your current location, you can try to fix that by looking for Snapchat’s new updates. Often, when the app is left without updating, it faces technical issues.

You can report the issue to Snapchat to fix it.

To report the matter you’ve to first,

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: Get into the Settings of the app

Settings of the app

Step 3: Next, click on I Spotted a bug.

click on I Spotted a bug

Step 4: You’ll need to click on Snap Map. 

 click on Snap Map

Step 5: You’ve described the issue and then choose the topic correctly to submit it.

Even if the user has turned on the Ghost Mode, their location would freeze and will not be updated till he or she turns the Ghost Mode off.

4. When Does Snapchat Update the Map Picture?

Snapchat updates the map pictures every few seconds. The pictures of the snap map change when you are using the application and not in the background. Unlike Google maps that get updated and changed in the background, you’ll need to actively use the Snapchat app to update your location. When your location changes the picture on the map gets updated to your new location.

Your changing location status on the map can be seen by your selected audience. Although the map doesn’t show it very specifically so your privacy is safe.

Many times the users get paranoid about their locations being disclosed by the snap map. But as Snapchat doesn’t force its users to share their location, you can always block the location being updated on the snap map by turning on the Ghost Mode. You can also log out of your account. Later, you can log back into your account, then the location will be updated accordingly.

If you’re on Ghost Mode, your locations won’t be found on the Snap Map and therefore it can’t be seen by your Snapchat friends. However, it doesn’t affect you from seeing other’s locations on the snap map. If you click on the Snap Map icon even while in Ghost Mode, you’ll be able to see the locations of your friends by clicking on their Bitmojis.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment