Home » Snapchat » What Happens If You Screenshot Snap Map: Does It Notify

What Happens If You Screenshot Snap Map: Does It Notify

By Pranab Sen

✎ Key Takes:

» You can tell if someone viewed your location on Snapchat by checking the story views; however, this information may not directly reveal the specific person who saw it.
» You can use the story views count and selectively post stories to deduce which friend might have viewed your location or Snap Map.

What Happens If You Screenshot Snap Map:

These are the following things you will notice:

1. Does not notify

When you take a screenshot of Snap Map on Snapchat, the app usually doesn’t send a notification to the person whose location you captured. They won’t be notified that you took a screenshot of their location.

2. Can’t know when You Took a Screenshot

Snapchat doesn’t automatically attach a timestamp to screenshots of Snap Map. This means that the person whose location you captured won’t be able to see when exactly you took the screenshot. Your actions are not time-stamped on the screenshot itself.

If You Screenshot Snap Map Does It Notify:

When you take a screenshot of someone’s Bitmoji on the Snap Map, the person won’t receive any notification about it. So, you can capture their Bitmoji discreetly without them knowing.

This means that if you take a screenshot of someone’s location on Snap Map, the app does not notify them about it.

However, it’s important to note that if you take a screenshot of anything within the chat tab, Snapchat does notify the other person. So, be cautious when taking screenshots in the chat tab as the person you’re chatting with will be alerted.

If you notice that the person you took a screenshot of becomes aware of it, it’s because Snapchat sends a notification to the other person when a screenshot is taken within the chat tab.

How To Tell Who Viewed Location On Snapchat:

You should know that your name will never be displayed to someone whose location you just viewed on Snap Map. But, the number still can be revealed in that way.

But, although your name is not displayed they can know if you’ve viewed the story on the Snap Map and the steps are simple.

To know if others can view when you watched their Snapchat location:

Step 1: First, just conclude if their story is shared only with you, and even if they see in viewed people number is 1, does that mean you viewed the story on Snap Map!

Step 2: For this, to stalk just go to the privacy settings on your Snapchat and make the story visible to only a single person from the settings.

Step 3: Now, Go to the ‘Spotlight & Snap Map‘ option and post a story.

Go to the 'Spotlight & Snap Map'

Step 4: After a few hours, the viewed people will be shown with numbers only.

snap map viewers

If you see 3 people who viewed that then be sure that’s the notification enough to understand if that was viewed by all when you only allowed only 3 people to see the story.

Share This Article:

Pranab Sen is founder and author of Techniquehow.com. He is a full-time blogger, everything that gets published is from Pranab's hand. He likes to be a 'social media geek' since 2011 to understand the problems of readers more deeply and giving the solution through his writing.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!