Home » TikTok » How To Stop Contacts From Finding You On TikTok

How To Stop Contacts From Finding You On TikTok

By Admin

✎ Key Points:

» To stop contacts from finding you on TikTok, you’ll need to open the TikTok application and then log into your account. On the next page, disable the button next to Allow Others to Find Me so that your account doesn’t get suggested to other users. 
» If you want to stop contacts from finding you on TikTok then you have to use the in-built feature on TikTok that prevents users from finding you.
» You can also remove the phone number if you want to not get searchable by phone number.

How To Stop Contacts From Finding You On TikTok:

TikTok suggests and recommends accounts to users that they might want to follow. These recommendations are based on your uploaded contacts, search activities, etc.

1. Disable ‘Allow Others To Find Me’

TikTok provides the Allow Others to Find Me switch to the users. This switch is enabled by default so that users on TikTok can find your account easily by seeing suggestions about it.

As the Allow Others to Find Me switch is kept on by default, your account gets suggested to others automatically. But you can just turn it off so that people don’t get to see your account as recommendations.

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok application.

Step 2: Log into your account. Make sure it’s updated to its latest version. 

Step 3: Next, you’ll need to click on the Me icon. 

profile-page-on-tiktok-me-icon-1

Step 4: Then click on the three dots icon that’s at the top right corner of the profile page. 

Step 5: Next, you need to click on Privacy and Safety. 

click on Privacy and Safety

Step 6: Then you’ll find the Allow Others to Fine Me option. 

Step 7: You’ll need to disable it by toggling it to the left. 

Disble allow others to find me

Step 8: Now your account won’t be suggested to others. 

2. Turn Off Syncing Contacts

You can deny TikTok from accessing your device’s contacts. TikTok allows users to upload their phone book on the application so that they can find the accounts that are linked to those contacts.

TikTok syncs these contacts often so that it becomes easier for the users to get suggestions with accounts of users whom they possibly know. 

However, if you don’t want the people in your contacts to find your TikTok account in the suggestions you need to deny TikTok access to your contacts. 

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: First, you’ll need to check whether you’ve already uploaded your contacts or not. 

Step 2: To do that, you’ll need to open the TikTok application and then log into your account. 

Step 3: Then click on the Me button to go to the profile page.

profile-page-on-tiktok-me-icon-1

Step 4: Next, you’ll need to click on the Add Friends button that’s on the top left corner of the screen. 

click on the Add friends

Step 5: Then click on Contacts. If you’re able to see the accounts that are linked to your device’s contacts, you’ll be able to understand that you’ve uploaded contacts. 

Then click on Contacts

Step 6: To unsync them, go to the Settings app of your device. Click on Apps and Permissions. 

 Click on Apps and Permissions

Step 7: You’ll need to click on Permissions. Then click on Contacts. 

You'll need to click on Permissions
 Then click on Contacts on tiktok app

Step 8: Then click on App Manager. Next, click on TikTok from the list. Click on Deny.

click on TikTok from the list
Click on Deny on tiktok app

Step 9: Confirm it by clicking on Deny anyway. 

3. Remove Phone Number

TikTok allows you to link your phone number and your email address to your account for security reasons. You must link either your phone number or email address to create an account on TikTok.

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok application. Log into your account. 

Step 2: Then, you’ll need to click on the Me icon to get into your profile page. 

profile-page-on-tiktok-me-icon-1

Step 3: Click on the three-line icon. You’ll need to click on the option Settings and Privacy. 

 option Settings and Privacy on tiktok

Step 4: Then, you’ll need to click on the Manage Account option. 

 click on the Manage account option

Step 5: On the next page, you’ll be able to see the Phone number option. Click on it. Then click on Unlink phone. 

you'll be able to see the Phone number option

4. Block Accounts

If you know someone on TikTok whom you don’t want to follow your profile, block him or her from your account so that the user cannot find you on TikTok until you unblock him or her.

TikTok won’t show your account as a suggestion to those users whom you’ve blocked on TikTok. This method is way easier and faster to ensure that the person doesn’t get to know about your TikTok account. 

Here’s how you can block someone on TikTok:

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok application. 

Step 2: Go to your account by logging into it. 

Step 3: Click on the magnifying glass icon. 

Click on the magnifying glass icon

Step 4: Next, search for the user and get into his profile. 

Step 5: Click on the three dots icon from the top right corner and then click on the Block option from the bottom menu. You’ll need to confirm it by clicking on Confirm. 

Click on the three dots icon on tiktok app
 click on the Block option from
You'll need to confirm it by clicking on Confirm

How To Turn Off Contacts On TikTok:

You can even twist your username so that no one can understand that it’s your profile even if they know you personally.

If you want to stop people in your contacts from finding you on TikTok, you need to keep a unique username for your account. It shouldn’t be related to your actual name so it can be complicated for people. 

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. How to find contacts on TikTok?

If you want to find the profiles of the users that are linked to the contacts of your device, you’ll need to upload and sync the contacts first.

2. Can someone find me on TikTok with my phone number?

Yes, if your phone number is linked to your TikTok account, people who have your contact number saved on their mobile will be able to find your account on TikTok only if they upload the contacts on their profile. TikTok allows you to link your profile with your phone number so that people can easily find you with the help of your linked number. 

Share This Article:

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!