How to Tell if Someone is Active on Bumble?

Your Quick Answer:

  1. To tell if someone is active or not on Bumble, you need to check the distance of the user.
  2. If the user’s distance is changing continuously, you’ll be able to know that he’s moving around but he’s online too.
  3. You can even look for little changes in the person’s profile and compare it with the last time you saw it. If there’s any change, you can be sure that the user was online but hasn’t responded to your text.
  4. You need to look for the New Here badge to be sure that the profile isn’t old or inactive.
  5. Directly messaging the user is also an option that can help you quickly figure out whether the user is interested in replying to your message or not. It will also help you know whether the user is online or not.
  6. Another way to check the online status is by stalking the user’s other social media profiles to see the date and time of the last activity.

Bumble has recently deleted the feature of showing online status so you can no longer see anyone’s online status on Bumble.

Only if the Background Data Refresh and the location access are turned on, Bumble will be able to record your location even when it’s running from the background.

How to Tell if Someone is Active on Bumble?

There are some ways to tell in someone is active on Bumble through different options, let’s dive in:

1. Check for Changes in Distance

By seeing the change in distance, you’ll be able to see whether someone is active on bumble or not. If you find that the distance of a user is changing continuously, it’s because he or she is on the app and is moving around.

Check for Changes in Distance

Bumble updates one’s location when the application is open or running in the background. Therefore, if the user is opening the app at the same time as traveling somewhere, the location would change continuously.

As Bumble has officially removed the last seen feature, it no longer provides any such specific function that can help you to know about others’ online status or whether he or she is live on Bumble.

Bumble offers its users a Snooze mode to help them take a break whenever he or she wants. If you turn on the Snooze mode of the app, you’ll be able to pause the app activities due to any of the available reasons, without actually deleting your account. If someone has put their profile on Snooze mode, you’ll be able to know about that from the designated away status until he or she turns it off.

Furthermore, you should always remember that on Bumble, they consider an account to be inactive if it hasn’t been online in 30 days or more. Therefore, anyone who wants to keep their profile active and be on the swiping list, must not stay offline for 30 days.

2. Look At His Profile

 Look At His Profile

Another way to check someone’s online status is by seeing the recent changes in his or her profile. If you’ve messaged someone and didn’t get a response, you can open the person’s profile to see the new changes that have been recently made. If you find that there’s no new change in the profile, then it’s for sure that the person most probably hasn’t been online on Bumble since the last time. However, if you find a change in the profile picture, bio, or other few modifications recently, then you’ll be able to know that the user has been online on Bumble and not replied to you.

If you have got a screenshot of his profile, then compare it and find out whether it has got any recent changes or not.

3. Send Him a Message

As there’s no direct way to see someone’s online status on Bumble, you should never be scared to send a message to the person whose online status you want to know.

You can either ask the person directly whether he’s online and available for a chat or you can simply send any random message to the user. If you get a quick and immediate response from the person, it’s most probably because the user is online.

Send Him a Message

This is the easiest way to check on someone to see whether he’s currently active on Bumble or not because it solves the problem right away as well as makes the bond between the two persons stronger which is the ultimate aim of Bumble.

4. See the Profile Badge

On Bumble you can no longer see if someone is currently active as it has removed the feature. However, you can be sure that the user whose online status you want to know, is new to Bumble if you get to see the New Here badge on his profile.

See the Profile Badge

This doesn’t tell you the active status of the user directly, but it can help you know that it’s not an old or inactive account.

However, the New Here badge is only displayed for the profiles that are actually new on Bumble and aren’t displayed for the old but active accounts.

Furthermore, there’s no way you can swipe an inactive account by mistake as it gets removed from the swiping list. Inactive accounts are automatically removed by Bumble from the swiping list if they aren’t opened for more than 30 days.

5. From other Social Media

From other Social Media

Another efficient way to know about a Bumble user’s online status is by seeing his other social media profiles. As Bumble has officially removed the online status feature to keep the privacy of the users safe, you need to search on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter for the user whose active status you want to know.

If you find the user’s profile on Facebook, you can stalk it to check the date and time of the last post. However, it’s only possible if the user hasn’t locked his or her profile.

Even on Instagram, you can search for the user and see the date and time of the last post. You can also check if the user has uploaded any recent stories.

If you find the last activities on other social media profiles to be very recent but haven’t replied to your message on Bumble, although it can be possible that the user hasn’t really opened the application, there’s a high chance that the person is not very much interested in you.

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. Does Bumble Show When You Are Online?

No, Bumble doesn’t show the online status of its users. It has recently deleted this feature to increase the privacy of the users. Unlike many other social media apps or dating apps connecting people together, Bumble doesn’t have a feature where it can show a green indicator to let someone know about others’ online status. The most it does is display a New Here badge for the new accounts on Bumble.

Although being able to see the online status of other users is kind of helpful in some situations, it sometimes hampers the right to privacy of many people. As online status is often misused by stalkers and creepers so Bumble makes it harder for them to track you.

2. What does ‘~’ mean on Bumble location?

On Bumble, you may often see the ‘~’ sign which means approximately. Bumble is a location-based app that shows the location of all users. Therefore, while it measures the distances, it uses the ‘~’ sign to imply that the distance measured and shown on the Bumble profile is not an exact one but it’s approximately the same.

If the user doesn’t open the application in several days, you might not be able to see his or her location. This happens in the cases where the user is traveling from one place to another and has been denied location access.

Moreover, when someone is on Snooze mode, Bumble can’t record his or her location.

3. Does your location update on Bumble if you don’t open the app?

Bumble is another location-based application, which tracks and updates the location when you’re on the application or the app is running in the background. If the Background Data Refresh option is turned on, Bumble will be able to record the location of the user even when he or she isn’t using the application anymore.

If Bumble has location access on your iPhone, it will be able to track your location the whole time.

However, while you’re giving the location access to the app, you can choose the option While using the app so that the app cannot update your location in the background.

Only if you choose Always while giving the location access to the app, it will record your location in the background too. But you can’t deny location access to the app, or else you won’t be able to make any more new matches.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment