What Does Clear Cache Mean on TikTok?

Your Quick Answer:

  1. Deleting the cache data on the TikTok application will only delete the temporary storage of your profile. It includes the login details, search history, viewing history, etc. 
  2. It doesn’t delete the drafts or other important profile information as those are stored safely on the app’s server.
  3. To clear the cache data on the TikTok application, you’ll need to open the TikTok application and then log in to your account.
  4. From the homepage, you’ll need to go to the profile page of your account by clicking the Me button that’s at the right corner of the bottom panel.
  5. Next, click on the three dots icon that’s on the top right corner of the profile page to get into the Settings and Privacy page.
  6. Scroll down the list to find the option Clear Cache and then click on it. It will delete the cache data of your profile and will turn it to 0M.

After clearing the cache data, you may not notice much difference but surely the performance of the app will improve and get faster. It will free up some space from your internal storage.

Expert Statement

What does Clear Cache mean on TikTok?

Cache data on the TikTok application is generally cleared to help the application function better. If you are clearing the cache data on TikTok, you’re deleting the temporary data that’s taking up unnecessary space on the app. It doesn’t include your account’s permanent data like videos, drafts, etc. 

Often users get worried about deleting the cache data on the TikTok application, not knowing what it actually is. They fear that they would lose their drafts and videos on their profile. However, cache data doesn’t include any of your permanent or main information.

It only includes the preloaded account information along with the watch history. As you watch videos from time to time in the TikTok app, the cache data is getting accumulated. Therefore, it’s always better to clear the cache data on the application every month. 

It should be done by you manually so that the cache data doesn’t get accumulated too much at a time. If the cache data gets accumulated, it may interfere with the proper functioning of the app, and even some of its features may stop working. 

Here are the steps you need to follow to clear the cache data on TikTok:

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok application.

Step 2: Next, log in to your TikTok profile by entering the login credentials.

Step 3: Then, from the home page of the application, you’ll be able to see a chain of options in the bottom panel. 

Step 4: Click on the Me option that’s at the right corner of the bottom panel and you’ll be taken to the profile page of the profile.

TikTok-profile-1

Step 5: At the top right side of the profile page, you’ll be able to see a three dots icon. Click on it.

Tap-on-the-Three-lines-icon-on-tiktok

Step 6: It will take you to the Settings and privacy page. You need to scroll down and find the option Clear Cache.

called-Clear-Cache

Step 7: Then click on it to delete the cache data on the app. It will become 0M.

click-on-the-Clear-Cache-option

Video on What Does Clear Cache Mean on TikTok:

Does clearing the TikTok cache delete drafts?

No, it doesn’t, clearing the TikTok cache data will never delete the drafted videos on TikTok but just the temporary data in the application. It’s primarily stored to improve the speed and experience of the user on the application.

The cache data includes the watch history, search results, etc. Therefore, as all the previous searches are stored in the cache data, it speeds up the process when you perform a search again. 

The cache data gets built up heavily and differently for different users. So the ones who are more hooked up on the TikTok app will have more cache data than the ones who rarely open it. In that case, if you don’t clear the cache data at least once or twice a month it may interfere with the app’s functioning. 

Does clearing cache on TikTok delete the liked videos?

Not actually, clearing the cache data on the TikTok application won’t delete the liked or uploaded videos. It stores the details about what you’ve watched from your profile, filters, effects, log-in information, and so on. Therefore, the deletion of the cache data will delete the viewing history. 

However, if you clear the cache data, it will not only improve the performance of the application but also free up some storage space, and fix minor glitches too. 

As it’s the temporarily stored data that takes place in the background, you won’t lose any of your profile’s uploads, comments, etc.

All those are safely stored on TikTok’s server. As the cache footprints get heavier over time, you should remind yourself to at least clear it once a month to avoid it getting piled up too much. 

What happens when you Clear the Cache on TikTok?

There are a few things that will happen when you clear cache:

1. You’ll need to sign in again:

You'll need to sign in again

The cache data includes the login credentials of your profile. Therefore, after you clear the cache data on the TikTok application, you’ll need to log in to your TikTok account again to use it.

However, you don’t have to worry about losing important stuff from your profile because the cache data doesn’t include any important stuff but just some temporary information. 

2. Improves the Performance and Speed:

Improves the Performance and Speed

As the cache data builds up over time with your usage of the application, you need to delete the cache data from time to time so that it doesn’t interfere with the working of the application.

When the cache data gets stored up too much, you may find the TikTok application facing minor but frequent glitches. Once you clear the cache data, it will get fixed on its own. It will improve the performance of the application as well as speed up all the processes. 

If you’re always on the TikTok application, you will have a heavier cache. But if you rarely open it, then the cache data will be less. Nonetheless, in both cases, it has to be cleaned up to maintain the app’s performance. 

3. Watch history and search history get cleared out:

Watch history and search history get cleared out

Users are often worried about losing important stuff by clearing the cache data on the TikTok application. It’s just the preloaded information of your profile that gets cleared out along with the watch and search history. 

Clearing the cache data helps you get rid of the insignificant data of your profile and you would not notice much of a difference.

Everything that you’re watching on TikTok or searching for gets stored up for later so that if you search for the same thing again, it can take out information from the cache data to speed up the process. But cache stores nothing important like drafts, etc. Therefore, getting rid of it won’t make any loss. 

4. Free up the storage:

Free up the storage

If you’re running out of storage, clear the cache data on the TikTok application to free up some. You should delete the cache data monthly so that the cache data doesn’t get stored up too much. It takes up the internal storage. Therefore, clearing the cache data will increase the storage and delete the old and insignificant details.

The Bottom Lines:

This is what happens after deleting the cache data on the TikTok application. It’s the preloaded information of the profile along with the search and viewing history that gets piled up in the cache data. It interferes with the device’s performance as well as takes up internal storage. Deleting it won’t affect the main data of your profile but just the insignificant one. 

Also Read:

Leave a Comment