What Happens When You like and Unlike an Instagram Post?

Your Quick Answer:

  1. When you tap the like button under someone’s post, they receive a notification instantly that says “[username] liked your post”.
  2. When you unfollow someone on Instagram, they will not get notified; however, if they follow you, they can match their Followers list and Following list and verify if someone unfollowed them. If they realize that your name is in their following list and not in the Followers list, they will know you have unfollowed. 
  3. When you accidentally like someone’s post on Instagram, you can tap on the like option again to unlike the post.
  4. If you like a post two times, which means you tap on the heart icon two times, your like will be removed. 
  5. When you deactivate your Instagram account, your likes are removed.
  6. Also, if you like a post and unlike it, the account holder will not find out. They will only receive a notification when you like the post and not when you unlike it.
Expert Statement

What Happens When You Accidentally Like and then Unlike?

You will see these things when this happens:

1. Person Get Notified when You Like:

Person Get Notified when You Like

When you accidentally like someone’s post, they get a notification. The notification section of Instagram in the menu bar is seen at the bottom of the app. The user would have to go to the second option from the right to reach the notification section.

Here they will receive a notification saying “[username] liked your post” as soon as you tap on the heart icon or double tap on the photo. If they have turned on app notifications, they will also get a notification about your like in the notification bar. Alternatively, they can also go to their post and check who liked it. 

The person will get a notification as soon as you like their post, but if they are a celebrity or just a famous local personality, they will be getting thousands of likes at any given time, which is why they might not notice yours.

2. When you Unfollow he would not Get Notified:

When you Unfollow would not Get Notified

When you unfollow an account on Instagram, they will not receive any notification on the app or their notification bar saying that you unfollowed them. However, they can easily find out if you unfollowed them if they manually keep track of their followers.

They can do this by comparing their Followers list and Following list. If they follow you, they will see your name in the Following list, but it won’t be visible in the Followers list. Once they notice this, they will know that you unfollowed them.

They can also find out if you unfollowed them if they use a third-party website or application; all they would have to do is log in to the website or app using their Instagram account. However, there is no direct method to know when someone has unfollowed you on Instagram yet, which is why they won’t get notified. 

Video on What Happens When You Accidentally Like and Then Unlike on Instagram:

3. Accidentally liked a photo on Instagram:

Accidentally liked a photo on Instagram

If you accidentally liked a photo, you must know that things like this happen to almost everyone; there is no reason to panic.

Moreover, Instagram is aware of how much of a common occurrence it is to like a post by mistake; that is why it offers an option to unlike a post as well if you are ever faced with the problem. All you have to do is tap on the red heart icon again, so it is white. This symbolizes that the like from the post was removed by you. 

The Bottom Lines:

If you like someone’s post accidentally, it is likely that they will know because of the notification that they will receive. However, if this is a mistake on your part or you don’t like the post at all, you can easily unlike the post by tapping on the heart icon again.

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. What happens if you like a photo twice on Instagram?

When you like a photo two times on Instagram, this either means that you double-tapped on the screen two times or tapped on the heart icon(which is meant for liking photos) two times.

If you like a photo twice on Instagram by tapping on the heart icon twice, your like will be recorded in the first tap and removed in the second tap. In short, this means that liking a post two times makes you unlike the post. However, they will not receive any notification if you unlike a post. 

Note: If you double-tapped on the screen twice instead of tapping on the like option, your like would not be removed. 

2. If I like and unlike a post on Instagram will they know?

If you like a post on Instagram and unlike the same post, the owner of the post will not know that you unliked their post. They will only receive a notification if they liked the post. If the post owner was actively using the Instagram app when you liked their post, they would get a notification as soon as you liked it.

When you unlike it, your account name will be removed from the list of likes, but they will know you unliked their post if they check the list. However, if you like a post and instantly unlike it, and the person is not active on the app, they will not receive any notification about you liking their post. 

3. Why would someone like then unlike a photo on Instagram?

It is not usual for someone to like a post and then unlike it. However, it is not very uncommon for it to happen. People often realise they do not like a post or what it is trying to promote after they have already liked it.

So as not to associate their name or account with a post they don’t agree with, they unlike it. It may also be that they were multi-tasking when your post showed up in their Instagram feed and liked it by mistake. To reverse the mistake, they ‘unlike’ the post.

4. Does it Delete your Likes when you deactivate your Instagram Account?

Yes, when you deactivate your Instagram account for a temporary period, your likes are removed from posts. However, this will be for a temporary period. When you deactivate your account, your posts, saved stories, and likes are removed from public eyes, but all of it is safely stored.

This means that when you reactivate your account again, all the posts you liked in the past will have your like again, but during the period your account is deactivated, your likes will be removed.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment