Why Are Random People Adding Me on Snapchat?

Your Quick Answer:

  1. When your profile is suggested on the Quick Add section of Snapchat to people with whom you’ve mutual friends, more people will start to add you on Snapchat.
  2. If your profile is being added by random people, it might be because you’ve gone viral, or bot accounts are trying to add you on Snapchat.
  3. Also, if you share your Snapcode on other social media profiles where you’re famous, your profile is more likely to be added by many strangers who are your followers there.
  4. If you want to know about somebody who has recently added you on Snapchat, you can just accept the friend request first, and then stalk the user’s profile to know about him or her. If the profile is strange and suspicious, remove him from your friend list and you can also block the user too.

You’ll be able to know whether someone has accepted your friend request or has added you back by checking for his or her snap score if it appears. You can even search for the user on your friend list to see whether he has added you back or not.

Why are people suddenly adding me on Snapchat?

There must be multiple reasons behind people suddenly adding you to Snapchat.

Here you’ll be able to find all the possible reasons that might have caused it:

1. You’re suggested on Quick Add of People

Sometimes, when your name is suggested on the Quick Add section on Snapchat, people will start to add you more frequently than ever. This is caused mostly when you add too many people to your Snapchat profile all of a sudden.

If you’ve added many people to your Snapchat profile recently, then your profile is suggested to the friends of those added people. These suggestions are displayed in the Quick Add section from where people can add you.

The Quick Add section of the Snapchat application helps users to find people they might know on Snapchat. Snapchat shows all suggestions and recommendations about whom to follow on the Quick Add section of the app.

If anybody whom you don’t know randomly sends you a friend request on Snapchat, it might be the reason that they have seen your profile in the Quick Add section.

🔴 Steps to Stop your Profile from being Shown in the Quick Add section:

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: Next, click on the Bitmoji icon that’s at the top right corner of the camera screen.

click on the Bitmoji icon

Step 3: Then click on the Settings icon.

 click on the Settings icon

Step 4: You’ll need to scroll down and click on See Me in Quick Add.

click on See Me in Quick Add

Step 5: Next, uncheck the box next to Show me in Quick Add.

uncheck the box

Your account will no longer be suggested in the Quick Add section.

2. You’ve shared your Profile somewhere

You've shared your Profile somewhere

If you’ve gone viral recently due to some video or photo, more people are likely to add you on Snapchat. Due to the increased use of social media platforms, videos and pictures go viral very easily.

If anything of that sort has happened to you recently, people who have got to know you from the viral video or picture will search you on Snapchat to add your profile.

You can find whether this is the cause – by looking through your social media profiles to check the number of likes and reactions to your recent videos or photos.

If your recent video has an unusual number of likes and reactions, you can be sure that you’ve gone viral for some reason and that’s the cause behind unknown people adding you on Snapchat.

If you have shared your Snapchat profile on another social media platform like Instagram or Facebook where you have a lot of followers or you’re famous, then it’s certainly those of your fans who have started to add your profile on Snapchat by scanning your Snapcode that you’ve shared or by searching you.

🔴 Steps to Share Snapcode:

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: Next, click on the Bitmoji icon at the bottom left corner of the camera screen.

click-on-the-Bitmoji-icon

Step 3: You’ll be able to see a yellow card beside your username. Click on it.

yellow card beside

Step 4: It’s the Snapcode of your profile. Click on Share Snapcode.

Click on Share Snapcode

You’ll be able to find various options where you can share the Snapcode. Choose and share the code.

3. Maybe bot action

Maybe bot action

Sometimes many users try to increase profile engagement by adding more people to their Snapchat profiles. If someone is using bot actions to add more and more people, it can add random people who are in no way connected or related to the user.

If your profile has been targeted by a bot, then you may see that your profile is being added by many people on Snapchat, all of a sudden.

Often many users go back to using a bot to gain followers. These bot accounts first add you to their profile and their main intention is to make you add them back by accepting their friend request.

Never accept the friend request of these random strangers because they’re just bot accounts that are trying to gain followers by expanding their followers and reaching a large audience. 

Further, the worst part of these bot accounts adding you is that they sometimes send you messages on Snapchat.

However, you can restrict that too by limiting the category of users who can Contact you on Snapchat.

🔴 Steps to Limit Users from Contacting you:

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: Next, click on your profile Bitmoji icon and then click on the Settings icon.

click on your profile

Step 3: Scroll down and click on Contact Me.

click on Contact Me

Step 4: Next, click on My Friends.

click on My Friends

From now, only the users who are on your friend list, only can send you messages on Snapchat and none else.

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. Why are Bots Adding me on Snapchat?

Recently many users have been facing the issue of bots accounts adding their profiles on Snapchat. As there are many users who want to increase their followers and to gain a larger audience, use bot action to increase their profile followers, this issue had become very common.

These bot accounts are trying to gain more and more followers by adding unknown and random people at a time. They intend to gain you as their follower.

As these accounts are not real, you should never add these accounts back or accept them because your profile might be at risk later.

Whenever you see that random people are adding you, you immediately have to be careful that these accounts might be under bot control and therefore avoid accepting their friend request.

2. How to know about someone who added you on Snapchat you don’t know about?

If someone has added you on Snapchat and you don’t know the person, you can get to know him or her by accepting his or her friend request. Sometimes, if you’ve allowed your profile to be shown in the Quick Add section, your profile gets suggested to many people based on mutual friends. However, sometimes when random strangers add you, you don’t need to first deny the request but accept it and then stalk his or her profile to know about him or her.

If you see the profile is not unusual or suspicious, then you can keep the user on your friend list, so that you can get to know the person even better and see his or her stories too. 

But while stalking, if you find the profile unfamiliar and suspicious with no proper profile picture, too low snap score, etc, then immediately remove the account from your friend list as it might be a fake account.

3. How to know if someone added you back on Snapchat?

Whenever you add someone on Snapchat, it sends a friend request to the user. If the user adds you back, you’ll be able to be friends with the user on Snapchat and the user’s name will appear on your profile’s friend list.

Only when a person adds you back on Snapchat, you’ll be able to see or view the user’s snap score. If you don’t see the snap score displayed below to the username of a user on his or her profile page, you can be sure that the user hasn’t added you back yet.

Steps to check if someone has added you back on Snapchat or not:

Step 1: Open the Snapchat application.

Step 2: Next, you’ll need to click on the Bitmoji icon to enter the profile page.

click-on-the-Bitmoji-icon

 Step 3: Then scroll down to click on My Friends.

click on My Friends on snapchat

Step 4: You can search for the user to see whether his name is on the friend list or not.

You can search

If you don’t find the name, then you can be sure that the user hasn’t added you back on Snapchat yet.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment