Why Can’t I Find or Add Someone on Facebook? – FIXED

If you want to add someone on Facebook then you have to search for the person on Facebook. If you can find the person then you can send him a friend request to add. But, if the person added you or accepted your request then only he will be added to your Facebook friend list.

There may have several reasons for not being able to add someone as a friend or finding someone on Facebook. I will explain all the reasons and what can be done in those cases.

If you can’t add someone there are many reasons like you already sent a friend request but the person didn’t accept that yet, or you would not find the ‘Add Friend’ button if the person made changes on his privacy settings that only ‘Friends of Friends’ can send a friend request. But, if you are not on that criteria then you can’t tap the add friend button, in that case, you can only message the person and that also will be on the message requests section. If you are getting the person from any group, tap on ‘View Main Profile‘ and from the profile page, you can add him.

view main profile

If you can’t find someone on Facebook then this could be due to the person has deactivated his profile or he is on your blocking list and that is why, when you search the person his profile would not appear on the search results and once you unblock the person you will be able to find his profile.

I will explain such reasons or factors in a more detailed guide that might be helpful for you to understand. Let’s get started.

Why can’t I Find someone on Facebook?

If you can’t find someone on Facebook then there might be two or more reasons that restrict you from seeing those profiles on the search results on Facebook. I just explained these basic reasons below:

User is Blocked by You

If the user is blocked by you then you can’t find the person on search, I just experienced this myself. When you just unblock the person you can really find the person on the Facebook search.

While the person is blocked and you search the person with more details on Google then there it will show links to that profile and if you open these profiles you might see a page not available error for that profile that is blocked. Now, just open that link on the incognito window without logging in, and if that displays the profile then might be the person who blocked you or you blocked him.

blocked users on facebook

Just go to your blocking list and find the person’s name there and unblock him and his profile will now appear on the search results on Facebook.

The user Deactivated his Facebook

If the user just deactivated his profile you would not be able to view his profile either from your logged-in profile or without logging in. In both cases, you will not be able to view the person in a Facebook search or can’t open his profile. If the person were on your friend list then it will be marked as ‘Facebook User’ on friends and when he re-activates his profile, his name will appear again on your friend list. You don’t need to add him again on that case.

You can also read the article on finding if someone blocked you on Facebook.

Why can’t I Add Someone on Facebook as a Friend?

There are many reasons that you can’t add someone on Facebook and you should know that unless the person adds your friend request you can not see him as your friend. The reasons for which you can’t add the person on your friend list, are mentioned below:

Go to View the Main Profile to Add

If you have seen someone on any Facebook group then the people who are interacting on that group and if you want to add them then you have to tap on their name. That will open up a page where the activity profile is displayed and to add the person, you have to click on the ‘View Main Profile’ option and then you will see the ‘Add Friend‘ button that will allow you to add the person on your Facebook.

You already Sent him a Friend Request

As I already told you, when the person accepts your request, only he will be added to your friend and this is most commonly the main reason to get someone on your friend list. If you even want to send another request, you have to cancel the sent one first and add the person by tapping the ‘Add Friend‘ button again.

sent friend request

So, if you want to add a person to your friends on Facebook, you might be able to send him a friend request and that person must accept that request to become a friend successfully.

There is only Message option for Privacy

If you’re seeing the ‘Message’ only option on someone’s profile then that is done through the privacy settings that I will explain here.

no button to add

If someone just changed the privacy settings to not show the ‘Add Friend’ button on his profile then you will not be able to add him as a friend.

Facebook allows its users to select friends of friends only to send you the friend request and if you cannot see anyone as a mutual friend then you might not be seeing the add friend button as the user set that from the privacy settings for the only friends of friends.

facebook privacy friends

For that profile, you will see only the ‘Message’ option and that means you can just send a message or request the person by messing to add you. Once he sends you the friend request then you will see him on your friend list. For that person would be able to send you a friend request, you have to set your privacy to everyone to send you a friend request.

The person on your Block List

If the person on your block list you would not be able to send him a friend request or even could not find him. So, if you facing an issue as described in order to add someone, first check the person from your blocking list, and if the person is there then firstly unblock him and then search the person and send him a friend request. Once he adds the request, you are now friends with the person.

The Bottom Lines:

This article explained the reasons why you can’t see the ‘Add Friend’ button on someone’s profile and if you could not find the person to add as a friend maybe you blocked that person but if you can’t see the button on his profile then might be the person has made changes on privacy settings that hide the button from unknown people.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment