Do you want to restrict a particular video from appearing on YouTube search results? Unlisted mode of a video while uploading on YouTube do the job for you.
Unlisted videos are those that do not appear on YouTube as well as not available on the uploader’s channel.
Basically, there is a method to view or change anything to that unlisted video. Unlisted videos are totally different from private or public YouTube videos.
While the public videos are searchable on YouTube but these unlisted ones are not viewable on search results. If you have the link shared with you, then only you can view that YouTube video.
Even, you can make any existing public video to unlisted category anytime.
Unlisted videos are those videos that can be viewed only by them who have the link of the video.
This type of setting helpful if you want to share webinars and online classes with your audience or clients. Remember that these unlisted videos also can be reported by users (if they wish) on YouTube.
What does it mean by the Unlisted Videos?
- Unlisted videos are not on your channel’s playlist or not viewable at any cost on a channel by other users who don’t have the link.
- Actually, this type of video is made and shared through a link and only those who have this link can play the video on YouTube.
- Unlisted videos are the best to share paid webinars.
- However, you can make these unlisted videos public anytime you wish.
Mind that, unlisted videos are not private videos, that means anyone who finds the link, can view the video.
Can I Search or find Unlisted YouTube videos without Link?
Unlisted videos are tagged as ”noindex” in those pages that prevent search engines or bots to crawl and show those video results on the search engines either it is Google, YouTube or anything else. You cannot find the unlisted YouTube videos without link because this is why it is built for.
That means if you make a public video to unlisted soon that video will be removed from search result after a few hours or days (depending on bot crawl time) and likewise changing the unlisted tag to the public for that video, will definitely show it up in search results.
Unlisted vs Private YouTube Video:
If you are confused about the unlisted and private youtube video then look at these points below which clarify the fact:
- Unlisted YouTube videos are those videos that can be viewed with a link, where private videos can be viewed only by the selected users organized by the uploader. If the link is shared with you, you can also view that video.
- Unlisted videos can be transformed into private or public videos and vice versa.
- Unlisted videos are helpful in sharing webinars and other online courses which are limited while the private YouTube videos can hold any type of contacts that can be accessible by the selected users.
Unlisted vs Private vs Public YouTube Videos:
To understand the unlisted videos, you have to know about the public and private YouTube videos first. As we have already discussed the private videos, let’s understand the public videos along with its comparison with unlisted ones.
Public videos are those videos that are searchable and viewable by all users on YouTube.
The private videos are neither searchable nor viewable by all users.
Unlisted videos are not searchable but viewable if you have that video link.
If someone shared a YouTube video link, you will see a link sign below the video while it’s playing (see the image below).
If you see this kind of sign in the video beside the video title, then it indicates that the video is unlisted on YouTube.
The unlisted videos are helpful if you want only some people and close ones can view the videos just by sharing the link with a particular group of people. Here we have listed some of the advantages and disadvantages of unlisted videos below:
Using an unlisted video link you can share the video with many people without adding their email ID in the access panel. But, other users will not find that by searching that title on YouTube or even not on the unloader’s channel.
The only disadvantage is that as there is no cap for users to view, that is why, if the link is shared with everyone, then the video is viewable to all of those people.
How to Publish an Unlisted video on YouTube?
If you are finding the easiest way to publish an unlisted video on YouTube then you can do this either on PC or by using the YouTube app in the most accurate way. Both of the procedures are easy enough to upload a video on YouTube and make it unlisted. Let’s have a look at the procedure for PC:
First of all, go to the channel and click on the ‘Upload’ button. Now, here you have to select a file from your computer and once you do, the process will start uploading that video.
Now, from the right-hand side, you will see a tab of video visibility options. From there, just select ‘Unlisted’ for that video.
Next, once the upload is completed and selection is done just tap on the ‘Publish’ button. Once the video is published, it’s ready to view by those people who have the link.
Sharing the Video Link:
You can see the link below the video, and share is just by copying it or you can directly send it to multiple users on Facebook, WhatsApp, etc.
Note: Whoever will get the link, can watch your YouTube videos. So, share it with caution. However, you can make the unlisted one to private anytime you wish to withdraw restriction.
How to Find Unlisted YouTube Videos?
Do you need a genuine way to find these unlisted YouTube videos? If you are searching for that uploaded unlisted video, it’s easy to find out if you follow the steps mentioned below:
Find the Unlisted Video on PC:
Firstly, go to ‘YouTube Studio’. You will find the option on the right-hand side tab.
Now, in the next window, on the left-hand side, you will see the option to click on ‘Videos’ from the list.
Now, if you remember the date of upload, it will be listed there along with the public video. However, you can find the unlisted video by seeing the visibility tab. The visibility option will show it, written as ‘Unlisted’ beside the video.
That’s all simple.
Find the Unlisted Video on YouTube App:
First of all, open your YouTube app and look for the ‘Library’ option at the bottom (stuck). Just tap on it.
Now, on the next tab, you will find an option ‘My videos’. Just tap on that and all uploaded videos will be displayed there.
On that page, the video will be there with a link sign on it. Still, you can edit and make changes to that video and transform it into public or private.
That’s the process on your YouTube app. It’s easier than that of the PC method.
Changing YouTube Video Settings to Unlisted
If you have an existing YouTube video on your playlist, you can make it unlisted. For this, you have to go into a few stages mentioned below:
Just open the ‘My videos’ tab on YouTube and select any video to convert it into unlisted. This method is quick and easy.
Now, find any video and then tap on the three-dot icon beside the video.
Next, click on the edit link and change the view type to ‘Unlisted’ from the existing type.
Once the settings saved successfully, the video will no longer be searchable on YouTube. Only the people who have the link will be able to view the video.
The Bottom Lines: