Will Messages Deliver If Blocked On WhatsApp?

Your Quick Answer:

When you send a message to someone who has blocked you, you will find that your message is not getting delivered to the user on WhatsApp which is why it will only have one tick mark next to it.

The message which gets delivered on WhatsApp shows two gray tick marks next to it and it only happens when the user has not blocked you.

But the message that you sent while you’re blocked doesn’t get delivered even if the user unblocks you later. Those messages will be stuck at Sent and will have one tick mark next to them.

But every time you see a message with one tick mark next to it, don’t just assume that the user has blocked you, but you need to wait for hours to see if the one tick mark changes to double tick marks which means that the message has been delivered. If it gets delivered then it means that the user has not blocked you but his device was not connected to an internet connection.

The person who blocks you on WhatsApp will not be able to send you messages too just like your messages are not sent to the user. When the user tries to send messages to you, it will show him Unblock (user’s name ) to send a message. Only if the user unblocks you, he will be able to send messages to you.

The message that you sent to the user while you’re blocked doesn’t get delivered even when he unblocks you therefore you’ll need to send the same message all over again after you’re unblocked. 

Will messages deliver if blocked On WhatsApp:

When someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, you’ll not be notified about it separately by WhatsApp but some changes can help you notice that you’re blocked.

If the user has blocked you on WhatsApp, your message will not be delivered to the user’s WhatsApp inbox. When you send a WhatsApp message to a person who has blocked you, you’ll find that it will show a single gray tick mark next to the message which means that the message is only sent. The message will not show two gray tick marks next to it.

Two gray tick marks indicate that the message has been delivered to the user’s WhatsApp inbox and might be read by him soon. You need to check frequently and see if the message gets delivered or not. If you find that the message doesn’t get delivered even after a day or week, you can be totally sure that the user has blocked you on WhatsApp which is why your message is stuck at Sent.

What Happens To Messages If You’re Blocked on WhatsApp:

You will notice these things:

1. Your sent messages are Never delivered

You should know that the message that you’ll send to the user will never get delivered to the user’s inbox on his WhatsApp profile when you’re blocked by the user. The message will be stuck at sent.

Your sent messages are Never delivered

You’ll be able to understand it by seeing the one tick mark symbol next to the message on the chat screen. Even if the user unblocks you on WhatsApp after a few hours or days, the message that you’ve sent to the user while you’re blocked stays being sent and doesn’t get delivered.

The user will not be able to receive your message and calls during the time you’re blocked too. Even you’ll not be able to see his new status on WhatsApp which he’ll update.

You will be able to see his current status on WhatsApp and reply to it. But the reply will not get delivered and it will be stuck at sent. It will also have one tick mark next to it.

2. Your Sent messages show one tick

When you’re blocked by a user on WhatsApp, the message that you sent to the user will never show two gray tick marks or blue double tick marks next to them. It will always show one gray tick mark next to it which means that the messages are sent but have not reached him.

Your Sent messages show one tick

Messages that are stuck at sent don’t always mean that the user has blocked you on WhatsApp. You need to see if you can check the About information and the display picture of the user or not. When you’re blocked by a user the display picture will appear blank and gray. The About information will also not be shown to you.

 A single gray tick mark also indicates that the user’s device is not connected to an internet connection currently which is why the message is not being delivered.

Therefore, when a message on WhatsApp is showing one gray tick mark next to it, don’t immediately assume that the user has blocked you rather wait for some time to see if it gets delivered or not. If it doesn’t get delivered after a few hours or days, it means that you’re blocked.

3. The Person who Blocked you can’t message You

Once someone blocks you on WhatsApp, he will not be able to send messages to you also. The main purpose of blocking is to prevent someone from bothering another user on WhatsApp which is why when someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, WhatsApp will ensure that the user can’t send messages to you too just like your messages are not being delivered to the user.

Blocked-you-cant-message-You

If the user types and tries to send a message to you, it will immediately show a message box on the screen that says Unblock (user’s name ) to send a message. Only if the user clicks on the Unblock button to unblock you on WhatsApp he will be able to send you the message or else no messages or calls are allowed to be sent from him to you.

4. After unblocking Old Messages Stay Undelivered

You should know that when you’re blocked by someone, the message you sent to the user doesn’t get delivered to the user as it shows one tick mark next to it. You might expect that after the user unblocks you, your message will get delivered to the user and will have two gray tick marks next to it.

Your Sent messages show one tick

But it isn’t the case. Even if the user unblocks you after a few days or a few hours, the messages that you’ve sent while you were blocked remain undelivered on WhatsApp. It doesn’t get delivered and stays on sent with one tick mark next to it.

If you want the messages to reach the user, send the same message again to the user after the user unblocks you so that it can reach him.

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. If I block someone on WhatsApp can I see if they read my message?

If you’ve blocked someone on WhatsApp after sending a message, you’ll not be able to see if the user has read your message or not. The gray tick marks will not turn blue or it won’t show you the read receipts as blocking prevents you from getting any updates about the user’s WhatsApp activities.

2. If you send someone a message on WhatsApp and block them can they still read it?

Yes, if you’ve sent some messages to the user after then blocked the user on WhatsApp, the messages are delivered to the user’s WhatsApp inbox and will show two gray tick marks next to it. The user will be able to read your message but his replies to your message will not reach your inbox as you’ve already blocked him.

3. If you block someone on WhatsApp can they see old messages?

Yes, when you block someone on WhatsApp, the user will be able to check and find all the old chats and messages that you’ve had with him. If you’ve blocked the user after reporting his account, then the old messages will not be visible from your WhatsApp account but they’re still visible from the user’s WhatsApp profile unless the user has deleted them manually.

4. How to Block someone on WhatsApp but still receive their messages?

If you want to block someone on WhatsApp and still receive their messages, you can’t use the original WhatsApp Messenger application to do that. Instead, you need to use the modified version of the WhatsApp application such as GBWhatsApp or FMWhatsApp to restrict activities from the user rather than blocking him directly. Restricting someone allows you to receive messages from him whereas blocking prevents it.

5. If you block and then unblock someone on WhatsApp, will they know?

No, if you block someone on WhatsApp, and then unblock the user after some time, they won’t be able to get any kind of notifications about it which is why they might not be able to notice any difference or know about it either. However, the user may get to know about it by seeing that some of the messages are not getting delivered which he has sent you while you have blocked him, whereas the others are being delivered to you.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment