How to Reset TikTok For You page?

Your Quick Answer:

  1. To reset the TikTok For You page, you’ll need to first clear the cache data of your profile on the app.
  2. This can be done by heading to the Settings and Privacy page of the TikTok application. Then click on the Clear Cache option to delete the cache data.
  3. You also need to mark the videos that you’re not interested in.
  4. This can be done by clicking and holding the video then you’ll get a few options on the screen. Click on Not interested and you need to select a relevant reason about it too.
  5. You also need to choose the stuff that you’re interested in by liking the videos that you want to see on the feed. Similar kinds of videos would be displayed on the For You feed on your TikTok profile.
  6. Then you need to hide all videos that particular creators whose content you don’t want to see. This needs to be done by selecting the Hide videos from this user.
Expert Statement

How to Reset the For You page on TikTok?

There are the methods that you have to follow:

1. Clear Cache on TikTok App:

Often users wish to see a different kind of video because of a shift in interest. It calls for resetting the TikTok For You page. You may no longer want to see the type of videos you used to like a few months back. In that case, you’ll need to just reset the For You feed on the TikTok application so that it can only show you the videos that you’re interested in. Here are the different ways and steps you need to follow to reset the For You feed of TikTok.

 You need to start with clearing the cache data on the TikTok application.

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: To clear the cache data on the TikTok application, you’ll need to open the TikTok application.

Step 2: Next, you’ll need to log in to your TikTok account.

Step 3: Then you’ll need to click on the Me option from the bottom panel of the screen.

Tap-on-the-Me-icon-on-the-bottom

Step 4: You’ll be taken to the profile page of your account.

Step 5: Click on the three lines icon and you’ll be taken to the Settings and Privacy page.

click-on-the-three-dots-icon-on-tiktok

Step 6: Next, under the CACHE & CELLULAR DATA header, you’ll need to click on the Clear Cache option to delete the cache data of your profile.

called-Clear-Cache-on-tiktok
click-on-the-Clear-Cache-option

Now you’ll find that the cache data has become 0.

2. Unlike stuff that you’re not interested in:

If you want to reset the For You page of TikTok, you’ll need to unlike the stuff you’re not interested in and also mark them as Not interested so that this kind of video doesn’t appear on your feed anymore. By marking a video as not interested you’re resetting your feed to exclude those kinds of videos.

TikTok only arranges your feed with the kind of videos you generally watch or like. Therefore, if you want to reset the feed, you need to unlike the videos that you’ve liked previously and then mark it as Not interested so that TikTok can make changes in your feed.

To mark videos as not interested, you’ll need to

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok application.

Step 2: Then log in to your account.

Step 3: You’ll be taken to the For You feed.

Step 4: Unlike the video, if you’ve seen or liked that before. To unlike it, you just need to click on the pink heart icon, that’s on the right side of the video, to turn it white. 

Step 5: Then click on the video and hold it.

Step 6: On the screen,  you’ll be able to see a few options.

Step 7: You need to click on the option Not interested.

 click on the option Not interested

Step 8: Then select a relevant reason and it’s done.

select a relevant reason

Now it’s the kind of videos that will not appear on your For You feed again.

3. Choose what you see and like those stuff:

After you’re done marking the videos you’re not interested to see on your feed anymore, you just need to go ahead and choose what you want to see on the For You feed. To do that, you’ll need to like only those types of videos that you want to see.

TikTok generally shows the videos that you’re interested to see it. If you like a particular type of video and want to watch similar kinds of videos on your feed, you need to double-click on the video to like it. When you like a video, TikTok marks that’s under your list of interest. On the For You feed of your profile, you’ll be able to see those types of videos only that you like.

When you’re resetting the TikTok’s For You feed, you’re choosing the kind of videos you’re interested in by liking them.

To like a video on TikTok to mark it as interested, you’ll need to

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok application and get into your account.

Step 2: On the For You feed of TikTok, you’ll be able to see the videos one by one by scrolling them.

Step 3: You can double-click on a video to like it.

 double-click on a video

Even you can click on the heart icon that’s on the right side of the screen to like the video.

Video on How to Reset TikTok For You page:

4. Hiding all videos from particular users:

If you’re not interested to see videos from any particular user on the For You feed of your profile, you’ll need to hide all the videos from the particular user.

On TikTok, users often prefer to see more videos from some creators. But there can always be a shift in interest which is when you no longer want to watch further videos from that particular user on your feed.

Therefore, to make TikTok know about your interest and to stop seeing the videos from that creator, you’ll need to hide all the videos which are posted by that particular creator so that you can reset your For You feed and see only those kinds of videos that you’re interested in.

Even if you don’t find content from some users to be entertaining or of your interest, you can hide the videos from that creator from being displayed on the For You feed of your profile.

Here are the steps you need to follow to hide all videos from a particular creator:

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the TikTok application.

Step 2: Next, enter the login credentials to get into your account.

Step 3: Then you’ll be taken to the For You feed of TikTok.

Step 4: Scroll the videos one by one. If you don’t want to watch videos from a particular creator, you’ll need to click and hold the video.

Step 5: It will pop up some options.

Step 6: Just next to the Not interested option, you’ll be able to see the More button.

the Not interested option

Step 7: Click on the More button and you’ll be displayed with two other options.

Step 8: Click on Hide videos from this user.

Click on Hide videos from this user

Then all the videos posted by this particular user will be hidden from your For You feed.

The Bottom Lines:

Above are the methods to reset the For You page on TikTok. If you want to reset the For You feed according to your interest, you’ll need to mark the videos that you’re interested in by liking them and exclude the videos that you don’t have any interest in by selecting them as Not Interested. You also need to clear the cache data on the app and hide all the videos from the particular user that you don’t like.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment