Twitter Message Deleter – Delete Messages From Both Sides

Your Quick Answer:

You can only delete your message for your side from the message section. Because in the message section, there is only the ‘Delete for you’ option.

To delete a message from both sides, you have to deactivate your Twitter account to get the messages deleted from both sides instantly.

Open your Twitter app and go to “Settings and privacy” which is in your profile.

Then, from the “Your account” tab, click on “Deactivate Account”. Then enter your password and deactivate your account.

If you can not reactivate your Twitter account within 30 days, your Twitter account will be permanently deleted along with all stuff you have on it.

How To Delete Twitter Messages From Both Sides:

There are some steps that you can perform to get the messages deleted from both sides:

1. Twitter Message Deleter

2. The Option is ‘Delete for you’ Only

There is no direct way to delete messages on Twitter for both, you can only delete those for yourself instantly. There will be no option to delete a message for both. There is only one option: ‘Delete for you’. By clicking on it, the message will be deleted only for you but the other person can still see it.

🔴 Steps To Delete:

Step 1: Open your Twitter and tap the envelope icon. You’ll be directed to your messages.

 Twitter and tap the envelope icon

Step 2: Tap on any profile whose message you want to delete.

Tap on any profile

Step 3: Then tap and hold the message and select the “Delete message for you” option from the menu that pops up.

Delete message for you

3. Deactivate your Twitter Account

If you deactivate your Twitter account, then your username and the public profile will not be viewable on Twitter. During the 30-day deactivation period, if you do not reactivate your account, then your messages will be deleted permanently and you won’t be able to recover those.

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open your Twitter application on your phone and log in to your account.

Twitter application

Step 2: Click on your profile icon which is in the upper-left corner of the screen .

Click on your profile icon

Step 3: Now click on “Settings and privacy” and then click on the “Your account” tab.

Settings and privacy

Step 4: Inside this section, you can see an option, “Deactivate Account“. Click on it.

Deactivate Account

Step 6: Then read the account deactivation information, then click Deactivate.

click Deactivate

Step 7: Enter your password when prompted and confirm that you want to proceed by clicking the Deactivate button.

reset your password

You have to enter your password if you don’t have it handy or forgot the password, then you have to reset your password.

4. Permanently Erased After 30 Days

If you deactivate your account, then the messages that you have sent to others will disappear from both sides. You have a deadline of 30 days to come back and reactivate your account. If you don’t reactivate the account, the messages and all other stuff are permanently deleted.

Logging into your account within the 30-day deactivation window easily restores your account. Keep one thing in mind Tweets, followers, likes, etc., may take a while to restore fully.

🔯 Can you Delete the Message before the Person sees it?

If the person is offline, then you have time to delete the message by deactivating your account. But if the person is online, then you have less time to delete the message.

Generally, people can see it in 5 seconds if they are online, so if you instantly proceed to deactivate the account before the person opens it, then they can not see your message (not possible generally).

Open your Twitter account and enter your login credentials. Before you sign in, you’ll see a notice asking you to confirm if you want to reactivate your account. If you choose to reactivate your account, then you will be redirected to your Twitter Home page.

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. How to Delete the Message in Twitter Group Chat?

To delete messages from the Twitter group chat:

◘ You have to first go to your message section on Twitter (you can see in the bottom right corner there is the message icon).

◘ Then open a group chat from the list.

◘ Now tap and hold on the message and delete this message.

◘ In the case of Twitter group chats, you cannot delete messages for all users.

◘ You can delete your own messages but after deleting they will still be visible to others.

2. Does Deactivating Twitter Delete DMs?

The privacy policy of Twitter, states that when you are deactivating your account, your direct message will be removed but restorable within 30 days. After the deactivation period when your account is deleted, the direct message you have sent will also be deleted permanently.

But Twitter will still store all of your data on their server dating back years. The company’s Help Centre also enlightened on the fact that a user can delete their DM conversations, but the other person will still have a record in their inbox.

3. What happens when you deactivate Twitter?

Twitter has the feature to deactivate your Twitter account before permanently deleting your account. Basically, that is the first step to deleting your account.

After deactivating your account, all your posts, tweets, likes and comments disappear from the site for up to 30 days.

If you leave your account deactivated for longer than 30 days without logging in to it, all your data and account are deleted, which means you have to reactivate your account within 30 days, otherwise, your account will be permanently deleted from Twitter.

All your tweets are deleted from the Twitter website and apps 30 days after deactivating your account. But as Twitter has no control over search engines, screenshots, and other websites (which repost your posts), in this case, your tweets could be stored somewhere.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment