Does Profile Picture Disappear When Blocked On Instagram?

Your Quick Answer:

Yes, your profile picture disappears when a user blocks you on Instagram. The profile picture will appear to be grey and blank.

However, if you’re not able to see the profile picture, it doesn’t always have to mean that the user has blocked you because it can also indicate that the user has removed his profile photo on Instagram.

When you get blocked on Instagram, the profile picture of the person is no longer shown to you.

You’ll not be able to find the previous chats of the user and the new messages won’t get delivered.

The followers and following count will turn 0 on the profile page and will not open up the lists on clicking on it.

If you can still see the profile picture while being blocked it’s due to cache data or maybe because the user has not blocked you. It’s also possible that he has recently unblocked you.

If you’re unable to see the profile picture on Instagram, it indicates that the account is deactivated.

It’s also possible that can that he has blocked you. However, he may have just removed his profile photo.

Does Profile Picture Disappear When Blocked on Instagram?

When you’re blocked by someone on Instagram you won’t be able to see the user’s profile picture anymore. The profile picture of the user will appear to you as grey and blank.

However, when you’re unable to see a profile picture of a user on Instagram, it doesn’t mean that the user has blocked you for sure because the person might have just removed this Instagram profile picture which is why it’s not getting shown to you or anyone. You need to look for the other signs on his profile to find it out.

Check if you can see the previous post or not. If you’re able to see the previous post but just not the profile picture of the user it is because the user has removed it. But if the profile page shows to be blank and the profile photo appears grey, you’re blocked.

What Happens if You Get Blocked on Instagram:

You will notice these changes in his Instagram profile:

1. Profile Picture Goes Missing

To be sure if you’re blocked on Instagram or not, you need to look for some signs and find them out on your own. When a user blocks you on Instagram, then you’ll not be able to see the person’s display picture or profile picture on his account anymore.

Profile Picture Goes Missing

The profile picture box is shown to be grey or blank. It doesn’t notify you that the user has blocked you, but seeing that the user’s profile picture has suddenly disappeared from his account, you can take the hint that the person has blocked you.

You’ll also notice that when you’ll click on his username to open his profile page, the page won’t show the previously posted stuff but it will show you an empty white page.

2. Messages Are Not Delivered

When a person blocks you on Instagram then you won’t be able to find the previous chats with the user on Instagram. The chat thread or conservation that you have had with the user in the DM section of Instagram will automatically disappear as soon as the user will block you.

Messages Are Not Delivered

To check if the user has blocked you or not, go to the DM section of your Instagram account and see if you can find the chat with the user whom you think has blocked you.

If you see the user’s chat with you has disappeared but you have not deleted it, you can be sure that he has blocked you. However, if you find the chats are there, then you can be relieved that you’re not blocked so try and send a message to a user and see if it gets delivered or not. If it will get delivered or the user will reply to it, you can be sure that he has not blocked you.

3. No followers & Following are Shown

If you open the profile page of someone who has blocked you, you’ll be able to find that the followers and following count of the user are shown as 0 to you. The profile doesn’t have 0 Followers or Following actually but as the user has blocked you on Instagram, the counts on his profile are shown as 0 to you.

No followers & Following are Shown

Even this post count will be shown as 0 to you. If you click on the Followers or Following header, you’ll be unable to open the list to see the actual followers and followings of the profile.

You can check the followers and followings from a second account that the user has not blocked in case it’s a public account.

🔯 Blocked on Instagram, but I Can still See Profile picture – Why:

If you’re able to see someone’s profile picture on Instagram who has blocked your account, it might be because you’re not blocked by the user actually. You might have misread the signs and indications.

It’s also possible that the user has blocked you in the past for a while but recently unblocked you again which is why you’re able to see the user’s profile picture and posts.

However, there is a possibility that you’re still blocked by the user and you’re able to see the display picture of the user due to cache data. You need to clear the cache data of the Instagram application and see if the display picture still stays or not to see if you’re blocked.

If the profile picture goes away you’re blocked and if you’re able to see the profile picture even after clearing the cache, you’re not blocked by the user.

Why Can’t I See someone’s profile picture on Instagram:

These are might be the reasons:

1. Deactivated his Instagram profile

If you’re unable to see the profile picture of any Instagram user, it can be due to either of the three reasons that are mentioned over here.

First of all, there is the possibility that the person has deactivated his Instagram profile temporarily which is why his display picture isn’t available to you. You will be able to see the ‘User not found‘ message on the page of user once you visit his profile page.

Deactivated his Instagram profile

When a user deactivates his profile his display picture becomes invisible to all users on Instagram therefore you can ask anyone from your friends or followers to search for the user.

If the user’s profile doesn’t show up in the search results even on other’s accounts and the display picture isn’t available to be seen by others you can be sure that he has deactivated his profile.

2. Blocked you

When a profile picture of an Instagram account is not available, it might be because the user has blocked you. Blocking removes the profile picture just for you whiles others can see the profile picture and posts.

Blocked you

If you’re suspicious that a user has blocked you, search for this account from a fake Instagram account after creating one with a fake name. If you find that you’re able to see the profile picture from the fake account but not the primary account it means that you’re blocked.

You’ll also see other changes on the profile when a user has blocked such as all the posts will disappear. The following and followers count will become 0 too.

3. Removed DP From his Profile

If you’re unable to see the display picture from a profile it doesn’t always have to mean that the user is blocked because there is a good chance that the user has removed his display picture from his Instagram profile. You can find it out on your own by checking the profile thoroughly.

Removed DP From his Profile

If you see that the profile is not showing any changes except for a blank display picture it means that the user has removed his profile photo but has not blocked you. You will be able to see the previous chats and posts of the user and communicate with him normally as you do. After the user uploads a new profile picture, you’ll be able to see the display picture again. 

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. If I block someone on Instagram will my likes disappear?

Yes, your likes will disappear from their previous posts on the user’s Instagram account when you block him or her. Even the user will not be able to see the comments that you’ve previously left on his Instagram posts.

All your traces from his profile will be wiped off. If you unblock them later, it will restore the likes and comments.

2. If someone blocked you on Instagram does it block all your accounts?

 If a person chooses to block your current account as well as the new accounts that you can create in the future it will automatically block your accounts. But it doesn’t block the multiple accounts that you have in the present.

Only if the user manually blocks your multiple accounts, he will be able to block all of your accounts.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment