How To View Secret Conversations On Instagram

Your Quick Answer :

  1. To view secret conversations on Instagram, you’ll have to enable the vanish mode by swiping up the chat screen. 
  2. The vanish mode of Instagram allows users to carry on conversations that automatically get deleted after they closed the chat.
  3. The message in vanish mode cannot be copied, forwarded, or saved. If a screenshot is taken by one user, it is notified to the other user on the chat screen itself. 
  4. You won’t be able to enable the vanish mode feature on the Instagram web. Notification for messages in vanish mode is sent to the users but the messages are not visible on the notification.
  5. It shows a New message instead of the actual message. Vanish mode can only be enabled for chats between two Instagram accounts and not for group conversations. 

Messages that you receive on vanish mode are not viewable from the Instagram web but the message you sent on vanish mode can be viewed on the regular inbox on the web Instagram. 

Message sent on vanish mode can be unsend too if it is not viewed or you’ve not closed the chat screen yet.

What are secret conversations on Instagram: 

Instagram allows people to chat secretly. It has introduced a feature called Vanish Mode. This feature is very unique and different which allows messages to disappear once they are read or the chat screen is closed by the receiver. Basically, in vanish mode, people on Instagram can send disappearing messages to each other.

These messages can be pictures, videos, audio, or text messages. When two users are chatting on a vanish mode, the content or the message of the chats are visible to them only for the moment. Once they leave the chat, all the messages disappear from their chat screen. 

Messages that are sent in vanish mode stay until the receiver reads them. But if the receiver reads it and closes the chat without replying, he or she won’t be able to get the message back to read it once again. Therefore, messages sent on vanish mode can only be read or viewed once. 

Even when one party takes a screenshot of the chats in vanish mode, Instagram shows a notification of that on the chat screen itself so that the sender can become alert about it. 

How to enable Instagram’s Vanishing mode:

You can enable the Instagram vanishing mode only from the Instagram app on mobile devices. There’s no way to enable it from the Instagram web. 

Here are the steps you’ll need to follow to enable the vanish mode on Instagram: 

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the Instagram application. 

Step 2: Enter your username and password to get into your account. 

Step 3: Next, you need to click on the Message icon that’s at the top right corner of the homepage. 

Click on Message icon

Step 4: You’ll be taken to the inbox of your Instagram account. 

Step 5: You’ll need to click on any of the chats displayed in the inbox. 

Click on Chat

Step 6: From the chat screen, swipe up to turn on the vanish mode. The screen will immediately turn black. 

Click on swipe up

You’ll be able to see the Vanish mode header in white on the screen. 

Video on How to Read Someone’s Instagram Messages:

🔯 Does Instagram send notifications for messages in vanish mode?

Yes, when you receive any message on Instagram, you get a notification for it provided that you’ve turned on the switch for it from the Settings. However, if that message is sent to you in vanish mode, you’ll not be able to read the message from the notification itself. It will only show as a New message on the notification instead of the actual message. 

notifications for messages in vanish mode

Therefore, you’ll have to open the chat to read the message, or else you won’t be able to read it at all. 

Even on the chat list on Instagram, it won’t show the actual message like it usually does but it would only show 1 new message. 

🔯 Can I know if the other person enables vanish mode? 

Yes, when the sender enables vanish mode to send messages to you, the chat screen will turn black for both the sender and the receiver. You’ll be able to see the message (name of the user) turned on vanish mode on the chat screen itself.

if the other person enables vanish mode

Even, it will also tell you that as you’re in vanish mode, all the messages on the chat screen will get disappear as soon as you close the chat. 

🔯 Characteristics of Vanish Mode: 

The Vanish mode of Instagram has certain characteristics which you should know. 

  • The vanish mode feature is only available on the app version of Instagram.
  • You can’t copy or forward any message that you’ve sent or received in vanish mode.
  • You cannot save any pictures that you receive in vanish mode. 
Characteristics of vanish mode
  • Vanish mode cannot be enabled for group chats on Instagram. It can only be used to chat with another Instagram account. 
  • The users with whom you are not connected on Instagram will not be able to send messages to you in vanish mode as message requests cannot be sent in vanish mode. 
  • If you take a screenshot or screen recording of the chats in vanish mode, the other person will instantly get to know about it by seeing a notification. 

How to unsend messages on Vanish mode:

Messages sent in vanish mode can only be unsend before closing the chat. If you close the chat after sending a message in vanish mode, you won’t be able to see or unsend the message again if the receiver has seen it. But if the receiver has not seen it, you’ll be able to unsend the message even if you’ve closed the chat before.  

If the message you’ve sent has been read by the receiver, you can still unsend it on Instagram even if the vanish mode is enabled.  

Here’s how you can unsend a message on Instagram in vanish mode:

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open Instagram. Log into your account. 

Step 2: Open the inbox of your Instagram account by clicking on the Message icon. 

Click on Message icon

Step 3: Then click on the chat. If you’re not in vanish mode, you need to swipe up the chat screen to turn it on. 

Click on Chat
Click on swipe up

Step 4: Next, you can send any message to the person. 

Step 5: Don’t close the chat. If you want to delete the message sent by you, you need to click on the message and hold it. 

Step 6: Then click on the Unsend option from the bottom of the screen. The message will disappear from both the sender and receiver. 

Click on Unseen massage

🔴 Flaws of Vanish Mode:

The Vanish mode of Instagram is one of the best features but it has certain flaws too. Its primary purpose is to make the chats end-to-end encrypted which disappears after closing the chat window. 

Flaws of Vanish mode

⭐️ Features:

  • The messages that you’ve sent in vanish mode from the app are still viewable on the regular inbox of your account if you see them from the Instagram web. 
  • But the message received in vanish mode is not viewable on the Instagram web. It shows the error message of Sent in Vanish Mode. Use the latest version of the Instagram app to see this message. 
  • As Instagram is a social media platform, you should always be careful about with whom you’re chatting or sharing secrets on vanish mode. As the other user can take a picture of the chats with another device which you won’t be able to know. 
  • The feature of Vanish mode is still not available to users in some parts of the globe. 

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. Does vanish more delete old messages on Instagram? 

When you close the chats in vanish mode, the message that you’ve sent and received gets deleted automatically. The message on the regular inbox that’s outside the vanish mode doesn’t get deleted. You’ll be able to get back the message on your regular inbox after turning off vanish mode by swiping up the chat screen again.  

2. Does vanish mode delete messages on both sides of Instagram? 

Yes, the message gets deleted for both sides on Instagram in vanish mode only if both users close the chat screen. However, if only one party closes the chat screen, the message remains to the other party until he or she closes the chat window.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment