How to Delete Messages on Pinterest?

You can delete messages on Pinterest using indirect options. Older versions of Pinterest allowed users to delete messages and conversations, but the recent update has replaced the Delete feature with the Hide feature from the PC.

Therefore, chats on Pinterest cannot be deleted totally but you can hide the conversations from the inbox by clicking on the cross icon on PC or by selecting the ‘Hide conversation’ option on iPhone.

Thus, when you’re hiding a chat from the inbox section, it isn’t lost forever, but it’s just hidden. It’s there on the server and you can see it back again while chatting with the user.

You can even hide your Pinterest messages and his posts by blocking the user or by reporting the user on Pinterest. You need to state the actual cause of reporting and then report the user on Pinterest from the chat section.

In this article, you’ll be able to know about the methods and steps to delete Pinterest Messages.

How to Delete Messages on Pinterest

You have to follow certain ways in order to remove the chat or messages from Pinterest. There are no direct steps to delete rather you can do certain things that will remove the chat from your Pinterest account.

Below you’ll find the steps to delete messages on Pinterest using both PC and Mobile:

From Pinterest on PC:

You can hide your Pinterest message but you won’t be able to delete it directly because the application doesn’t allow you to do that. Pinterest has gained much popularity in recent years and more users have started to create accounts and use Pinterest daily for fun and recreation. But often the users using Pinterest face the issue where they can’t delete a message or a conversation.

However, many aren’t aware that after the recent update, the app does not provide a delete option separately anymore. Instead, it has replaced the delete option with the hide option. Thus, users of Pinterest can no longer delete their messages but can only hide the conversation.

The steps to delete Pinterest messages using PC are mentioned below:

Step 1: You need to log in to your Pinterest account using a browser.

Step 2: From the homepage of Pinterest, you need to look at the top right corner of the screen.

Step 3: You’ll be able to see a set of options, one of which is the message icon.

 message icon on pc

Step 4: You need to click on the message icon to open the Inbox of Pinterest.

Inbox of Pinterest

Step 5: There you’ll be able to see the conversations you’ve had with the different people.

Step 6: You need to point your mouse at the chat which you want to delete and a small X icon will immediately appear next to the name of the user. You need to click on the X icon to hide the chat from your inbox.

X icon to hide the chat

From Pinterest on Android:

Messages on Pinterest cannot be directly deleted rather Pinterest messages can be hidden from the inbox. Users using Pinterest for the first time get confused about its features.

Pinterest is another social media profile that has a lot to offer to its users, but the features of Pinterest can be a little confusing for a layman to understand. Pinterest users often face the issue where they can’t find the delete button inside the Pinterest application and they’re not able to delete the chats or messages sent or received on Pinterest.

Surprisingly Pinterest has removed the delete option totally from the application, and instead, the Hide conversation is added as a substitute. Hide Conversation works to hide the old conversation from the chat section but these messages aren’t deleted from the account.

Furthermore, there’s no ‘unsend’ option on Pinterest.

Whenever you’re hiding a conversation from the inbox of your Pinterest account, it would be hidden only from your account and not from the other user’s account.

The steps to hide a conversation on Pinterest are mentioned below:

Step 1: Open the Pinterest application.

Step 2: From the bottom panel of the screen, just tap on the Messages icon.

click on the Message icon

Step 3: It will take you to the Update section. You need to tap on Messages to get into the Message section.

Messages section

Step 4: There you’ll be able to see all the chats and conversations in the Messages section. You need to click and open the chat screen of the user which you want to delete or hide.

Step 5: On the top right side of the chat screen, you’ll see the three dots icon. Just tap on it.

 the three dots icon

Step 6: It will show you three options out of which just tap on Hide conversation to hide the chat from your inbox.

 Hide conversation

How to Hide Pinterest Posts from a Person?

There are two methods to hide Pinterest posts or ignore messages from a person.

Cakes Info_How to delete messages on Pinterest

Let’s get into more detailed information:

1. Blocking the person:

If you want to hide all your posts and messages from someone on Pinterest, you would be able to do that by blocking that user on Pinterest. If you block someone on Pinterest, that particular user wouldn’t be able to find you on Pinterest. The user would not be able to see your Pinterest posts and messages anymore.

Like any other social media platform, there are some users on Pinterest too who act as creeps but surely you can get rid of them. If you don’t want to receive messages from a particular user on Pinterest, you would be able to do that by blocking that user on Pinterest. It would also automatically prevent the user from following your account on Pinterest.

You can block someone on Pinterest by following the steps mentioned below.

Step 1: Open the Pinterest application on your Android.

Step 2: You’ll need to click on the Message icon that’s displayed on the bottom panel of the screen.

click on the Message icon

Step 3: Next, you need to get into the Messages section and then click on the chat of the user whom you want to block.

Messages section

Step 4: You’ll have to click on the three dots icon on the chat screen and then click on Block users.

three dots icon

Step 5: It will prompt you with a confirmation box, where you need to tick mark the box next to the name of the user whom you want to block.

confirmation box

Step 6: Next, tap on OK and the user will be blocked out of your Pinterest account.

2. Report the Person:

If you want to hide Messages from a user, you can report to Pinterest about him so that Pinterest can look into the matter and evaluate the situation.

If you’re experiencing unusual activities of a user on Pinterest, you need to let Pinterest know about the matter so that all your posts and messages can be hidden from the person.

Reporting about the user is an indirect method to prevent someone from seeing your messages.

While reporting about a user to Pinterest, you need to choose the appropriate cause of launching the report as it will help the authority to review the situation and then take the necessary action.

Once you report, the person would receive warnings from Pinterest after the authority examines the situation and takes the decision.

Steps to report on Pinterest:

Step 1: Open the Pinterest application.

Step 2: You’ll have to get into the Messages section by tapping on the Messages icon that’s at the bottom of the screen.

click on the Message icon

Step 3: You’ll need to open the conversation of the user about whom you want to report.

Messages-section-1

Step 4: Next, tap on the three dots icon and then click on Report this conversation.

Report this conversation

You’ll need to click and select the appropriate reason why you’re launching the report against the user from the prompting box and then your report would be sent to Pinterest.

 prompting box

The Bottom Lines:

This article explained all the possible methods to delete messages from Pinterest. As Pinterest doesn’t let users delete a whole conversation, you can only hide it from the inbox. Hiding messages doesn’t delete them permanently, but it only hides from the chat section, you can do it by using both Android and PC.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment