If I Block Someone On WhatsApp Will They Know

Your Quick Answer:

If you block someone on WhatsApp, he won’t get any direct notifications from WhatsApp.

There are certain changes that the person would be able to see on your WhatsApp profile. As soon as you block the user, he won’t be able to see your DP anymore until you unblock him.

Further, the person won’t be able to see your Last Seen time. Even if you’re online on WhatsApp, your online status won’t be shown to the user after you block him.

Any status that you post on WhatsApp would not appear to the user whom you’ve blocked. He can only see the existing ones until it expires.

When someone you blocked on WhatsApp sends you a message, it won’t get delivered to you but remain as sent. Hence, it would show one tick mark.

This is what happens after you block someone on WhatsApp.

What Will He know if You Block Him on WhatsApp:

Here is what the person whom you’ve blocked on WhatsApp can see:

1. He will No Longer See your DP:

When you block someone on WhatsApp, the person can no longer see your WhatsApp profile picture. If you’ve blocked someone they would not be able to get the notification that you’ve blocked them directly by WhatsApp. Instead, they no longer will have the access to view your display picture unless you block the person again on WhatsApp.

However, the person, if he or she doesn’t have much knowledge about WhatsApp tricks, would not be able to understand that you’ve blocked him even though your profile picture is not available to the user.

He might go under the thought that you’ve removed DP from your profile or have changed your profile picture privacy to Nobody.

Although the user doesn’t get any direct notification from WhatsApp when you block him, he might get to know when he can’t view your profile picture for many days.

After you block someone on WhatsApp, you’ll see the message ‘You blocked this contact. Tap to unblock‘ on your chat screen. But the other person would not get any such text on the screen and will be completely clueless.

2. Your Last Seen no Longer Shown:

After you block someone, the person won’t be able to see your last seen or online status on WhatsApp. Blocking someone prevents them from seeing if you’re currently online on WhatsApp or not.

Blocking someone denies them from seeing your Last Seen even if your last seen on WhatsApp is set as Everyone.

Although there’s no direct way that can help a user find out if you’ve blocked them on WhatsApp or not, when they can’t see your Last Seen time, it might raise suspicion that you might have blocked them. But he can’t be sure about that because WhatsApp allows users to hide their Last Seen by setting it to Nobody.

 Last Seen by setting it to Nobody

However, if the user asks someone else whom you haven’t blocked on WhatsApp to spy on your Last Seen or online status, he or she might be able to find out that you’ve blocked him or her.

Even when your Last Seen is set as Nobody, no one else will be able to see it, but they’ll be able to know about your online status when you’re using the WhatsApp application.

3. No Status Updates Anymore to Them:

Blocking someone on WhatsApp would deny his or her access to view your status anymore. When you block a user on WhatsApp they can no longer see any upcoming status that you post on WhatsApp. Even if you don’t restrict the user from seeing your status by changing privacy, he or she won’t be able to see it after you block him.

Although, the existing status that you’ve posted before blocking the user would be shown to him even after you block the user. But it would only last till the completion of twenty-four hours or till you delete it, after which the user would not be able to see any of your upcoming statuses on WhatsApp.

When you block someone, you won’t be able to see the status he or she posts on WhatsApp either. Therefore, after blocking a person on WhatsApp, neither of you can get to see each other’s upcoming WhatsApp status.

Although, there are some steps they can take to see the status even if they are blocked and can know this thing.

If you want to hide a status from a contact, instead of blocking the person, you can also change the privacy settings.

Here are the steps you need to follow to do that:

Step 1: Open the WhatsApp application.

Step 2: You’ll need to click on the three dots icon.

 click on the three dots icon

Step 3: Next, click on Settings.

click on Settings

Step 4: On the following page, you’ll need to click on Accounts.

click on Accounts

Step 5: Next, click on Privacy. Then click on Status.

click on Privacy

Step 6: You’ll be able to see three options. Click on My contacts except…

Click on My contacts except

Then tick mark the name that you want to hide for and then tap on the Green tick mark to save it.

Now you’ll be able to hide your status from those particular contacts.

4. Their Sent Messages will Have One Tick:

When you block someone on WhatsApp, the person won’t be able to send messages to you. If he or she tries to send you messages, won’t get delivered to you.

When a message on WhatsApp doesn’t get Delivered but stays on Sent, the user will see one tick mark. This is a sign for the person to take a hint that you may have blocked him. But he can only find it out only if he has some knowledge about how blocking on WhatsApp works.

Even though the user whom you’ve blocked won’t be able to understand directly that you’ve blocked him, if his messages don’t get delivered even after days, it would raise suspicion.

Moreover, when you block someone you won’t be able to send messages to the user either. If you try to send messages to the user whom you’ve blocked, it would ask to Unblock (Name) to send a message.

5. He wouldn’t be able to make Voice or video calls:

Once you block someone on WhatsApp, the person will not be able to place a voice or video call to you on WhatsApp. If he or she tries to call you, it would appear as Calling instead of Ringing. It means that the call is not delivered to you.

When you block someone, WhatsApp denies the users access to seeing your About information too. After you block the user, the About column of your profile will come blank to him.

There’s no other direct way that can help a user find out whether you’ve blocked him or not. But if he or she fails to place a voice or video call to you even after trying for a few days, it would surely raise the suspicion of you blocking the user.

The user can take the help of other friends to spy on your WhatsApp profile. If the person whom you’ve blocked uses indirect methods to find whether you’ve blocked him or not, he might be able to know it.

The Bottom Lines:

When you block someone the person won’t be able to know about it directly but he will no longer be able to see your profile picture, last seen, and upcoming status.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment