What Happens If You Delete Profile Picture on Facebook?

Your Quick Answer:

  1. If you just delete the profile picture from Facebook then your privacy will get more strong as you are hiding it from people and also from your friends.
  2. As soon as you delete the DP from your Facebook profile then it will also be removed from the Facebook server which is really not reversible.
  3. All the likes and comments on that profile picture will also get removed along with that DP.
  4. When you delete the profile picture without setting any new then the profile picture will leave a blank image displaying instead of any DP.

Also, remember that you have a few ways to remove without deleting your profile picture from Facebook.

In this article, you will learn the steps to set a default photo and know what happens after deleting the profile picture in detail.

What Happens If You Delete Profile Picture on Facebook

There are several things that you would experience or will happen if you delete the profile picture from your Facebook profile. Let’s find those out:

1. Your Privacy is Increased

Your privacy is increased

Facebook has a number of features that allow you to set your profile picture, whether you like it or not. We usually express our identity through Facebook’s DP. But many do not set their profile picture, of course, it increases their privacy.

You may have heard many times about Facebook that another user is committing a criminal act by opening a fake account in another person’s name using another person’s DP.

There have been multiple such profiles on Facebook for a long time. They try to make friends with others by chatting with these fake accounts and then start committing illegal violations. Facebook always tries to identify them and suspend their account.

But you have to be aware, that if you do not use your DP, no one will be able to engage you in any criminal activity which will be very safe for you by refraining from harassment.

Facebook has a feature to lock your profile where no one but your friends can see your picture or post. But the profile picture will still show to others in a smaller size.

2. Delete Photos from the Facebook Server

Deletes The Photo from Facebook server

If you delete your profile photo from Facebook, you can no longer recover it. It was removed from the Facebook server.

There is no trash folder from which you can recover it later.

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Steps to delete your profile picture:

Step 1: Open the “Facebook” application and sign in with your login credentials.

Step 2: After signing in, you can see the “Message” option in the top right corner. Below this option, there is a “three parallel line” icon & open it.

three parallel line

Step 3: After opening it, you can see at the top, that there is an option “Your Profile”. Open your profile page.

Your Profile

Step 4: Scroll down a little bit. Here you can see “Photos” on the left along with “Music” and “Did you know” on the right. You need to tap on that.

Photos

Step 5: After clicking on it, you can see there is a column named “Album”. Open it.

column named Album

Step 6: After opening it, you can see there is a section ”Profile pictures”. Hold for a while the image you want to delete.

Profile pictures

Step 7: There are three dots in the top right corner. Press it and there is an option “Delete photo”. By pressing DELETE, your DP will be deleted.

Delete photo

3. Set to Facebook Default Profile Picture

When you delete your current profile picture, it shows blank photos in your profile photo section, hailed the default profile picture.

The default profile photo is set to the male or female blank image, depending on the gender set to the profile.

All you have to do is delete your current profile photo. If you set it to this default photo, you can be safe from deception, otherwise, you can also create your avatar.

🔴 Steps To Follow:

To create your avatar you need to follow the steps below:

Step 1: Open the “Facebook” and sign in with your login credentials.

Step 2: You will see the “Message” option in the top right corner. Below this option, there is a “three parallel lines” icon, tap on it.

three parallel line

Step 3: After opening it, you can see at the top there is an option: “See your profile”. Open your profile page.

Your Profile

Step 4: Tap on the cam icon and you can see below an option “Create avatar profile picture”. Tap on it.

create avatar profile picture

Step 5: There you can have several options, like choosing your skin color, hairstyle, face shape, eye shape, makeup, and a lot of tools. Using these, you can make your own avatar which you can set as your profile picture.

 several options

4. Comments and likes are Removed from Profile Picture

All comments and likes on dp is lost

When you are going to post something, there is an option to make it public or keep it among friends. From here you can set up the post as per your choice.

When you set your profile picture you get some likes and comments on it.

When you delete your DP from your “profile photos” album, it will be automatically deleted from the post. So all the “likes” and “comments” you get with it are also deleted.

🔯 Change Facebook Default Picture – Male or Female

When you sign up for your Facebook account you give your gender along with other information. What you put in that column would be your default blank photo (male or female). You can change your gender and name settings. Then your default photo will look different.

🔴 Steps To Follow:

To make these changes you need to follow the steps below:

Step 1: First, open your Facebook application and go to the “Settings and Privacy” section as per the previous guide.

Step 2: Scroll down and you will see there is a section “Audience and Visibility“, below which there is another section “Profile Information“. Open it.

Profile Information

Step 2: Here you will see “Basic Info“, press the edit button to the right of it, and then you will be taken to the page where you can change and save your gender.

Basic Info

🔴 Steps To Follow:

As per your gender if you want to change the name here are the steps to change the name from settings:

Step 1: At the top of the settings you will see “Personal and Account Information”. Open it.

Personal and Account Information

Step 2: Then you can see there is a “Name” section. Open it and change your name to a new one. One thing to keep in mind is that you can change your name once every 60 days.

Name section

The Bottom Lines:

This article explains the different things that would happen if you just delete the profile picture from Facebook. Also, there are some alternative ways in replacing the DP on your Facebook profile picture.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment