✎ Key Takes:
» You can know if someone deleted their Instagram by checking your bookmarked profiles; if an error occurs when trying to open a profile, it may indicate a username change, deletion, or deactivation.
» If you think someone blocked you, ensure that you can distinguish between a potential block and a profile deactivation on Instagram.
- How To Tell If Someone Deleted Their Instagram:
- How to Know if Someone Deactivated Instagram Account:
How To Tell If Someone Deleted Their Instagram:
If you want to find out whether someone has Deleted his profile or has blocked your Instagram then you have to check with a few techniques that will figure out if you are blocked or if the person just deactivated his profile on Instagram.
Let’s find out through some indications that will also be helpful for you to get things out:
1. Check the Profile of that Person
First of all, you have to check with some basic level of investigation by checking the profile of the person who has blocked you or if you are just not sure if he has deleted his Instagram account, go to your Instagram account, copy the profile URL of that person and open his profile on the web or from your mobile device.
If the person has deleted or deactivated his profile, you will see a message ‘Sorry, that page isn’t available’, on the other hand, if you’re blocked you will see zero stuff on this profile showing a ‘no posts yet’ stamp with a ‘User Not Found’ error on that profile tab.
2. Verify with Filter of Changed Username
If the person has just changed his username on the Instagram profile, you will not be able to find him with the previous URL. Now, if you’re just checking his profile based on the URL and wonder whether you’re blocked or not then look at the profile from your ‘Following’ list on your Instagram profile.
If you can find him out there on the list, you got this error because he changed the username of his account.
Now, if you can’t see him on the following list and can’t find his profile while logged out that means the person has deactivated his Instagram account.
3. Look at the profile without an account
You have to check the profile from your desktop or mobile browser without an account to see whether this profile exists or not. Now, to find this Instagram profile just make sure you’re logged out and then copy the URL of the profile and open it on the browser.
Once you type & hit the URL to open and it shows the profile, which generally means neither he had deactivated nor changed his username rather the person blocked you on Instagram which is why you were not able to see him on Instagram.
On the contrary, if you can see the person’s profile says ‘Sorry, this page isn’t available’ then it’s clear that the person has deactivated his Instagram profile.
Another indication is that you can look for hashtags on Instagram. If you can find the profile through the hashtags it was using and once you see the page is not opening that means the person who blocked you just deleted his profile.
In both cases, you have to find out what exactly happened on your account, for this, you just have to take the hashtags link and open it from your friend’s profile or on an incognito window of your browser.
If you can see the posts with the hashtags available from your friend’s Instagram profile, means clearly the person has blocked you but if you can’t see the same hashtags when you are using a different account or your friend’s account that means the person has deactivated his profile.
If you see another profile with the same name that could mean the person has opened a new Instagram account, remember that Instagram does not allow you to merge between accounts.
5. Check your Saved list for Media
If you just had multiple posts of someone else on your Instagram account and looking for those but you see those are not available on your list, that means the person either has deleted the posts or just blocked you from Instagram causing the removal of the posts of the person.
Now if you just saved the bookmark of a post then you can try checking the post using that URL without an account and if you can see the post that means the person blocked you on Instagram which causes the removal of your saved post.
6. Ask your Friends to Investigate
The final solution is to check that profile from your friend’s account if you know a person who has mutual followers and you have to ask that person to send you the profile whom you suspect has blocked you.
Now if your friend can send you the link or can find out his profile that’s enough to understand the person who blocked you. That is why the profile was not openable from your account but your friend was able to find out and see all of the stuff he has on his profile.
How to Know if Someone Deactivated Instagram Account:
You will notice these things below:
1. DP Goes Blank
Often when users deactivate their accounts, others mistakenly think that the person has blocked them. Here’s how you need to check whether the person has deactivated his account or not. You need to check for his profile picture on the chat section to see if it appears or not.
If you find that the messages are not there and you’re not able to see the display picture of the user, then the person has deactivated his Instagram account.
◘ Open the Instagram application. Make sure that you’re connected to a WiFi network or that your data connection is turned on.
◘ Next, you need to log in to your Instagram account. Click on the message icon from the homepage at the top right corner.
◘ Then you’ll be able to see the chat list of your account. You need to open the chat of the user and then check if the DP is showing or not.
◘ If it appears blank and gray, the user has deactivated the account.
2. Profile Shows User Not Found
You also need to check the profile page of the user by clicking on the username from the top of the chat screen to check if you’re able to see the stuff on the profile page or not. If it shows the message User Not Found on the profile page with a blank display picture icon and no posts it means that the user is no longer on Instagram.
As he has deactivated his account, so you’re unable to see the posts and display pictures that were earlier available on the profile.
◘ Open the Instagram application. Log in to your account.
◘ Then, go to the message section. Click and open the chat page of the user.
◘ Next, you need to click on the username to go to the profile page.
◘ Check if it says User Not Found or not.
3. Sent Messages Return Error & Fails
You can also send messages to the user to see if it fails to get sent or not. When you try to send messages to a deactivated account, it doesn’t get sent to the user as the account is no longer available to be sent. Instead, the text or picture fails to be sent showing error messages. Furthermore, when you’re blocked, you won’t be able to type to send messages to the user which is the prominent difference between blocked and deactivated accounts.
◘ Open the Instagram application after turning on the mobile data or connecting to a WiFi network.
◘ Then you need to log into your Instagram account. Next, you need to go to the chat section and then click on the chat to open the chat screen.
◘ Type the message in the message box. Then click on the send button to send it.
If it shows an error message and fails to get sent, it means that the account is deactivated.
4. All His Posts You Saved Are Gone
You need to check the Saved section of Instagram to see if all the saved posts of the user are gone or not.
When someone deactivates his account, his posts or pictures are no longer available to be viewed on Instagram by others which is why you’ll find that all the posts that you’ve saved from the user’s profile previously are no longer available to see in the Saved section.
It will disappear without any kind of notification.