Home » X (Twitter) » Can You Unsend Messages On Twitter?

Can You Unsend Messages On Twitter?

By Pranab Sen

✎ Key Takes:

» You can directly unsend a message on Twitter, as it lacks a built-in option for deleting messages from both sides.
» You can ask the recipient to delete the message from their end, creating a mutual agreement to remove the message.

Can You Unsend Messages On Twitter?

You can delete a direct message on Twitter from both your laptop and the Twitter mobile app. 

It says This message will be deleted for you. The other people in the conversation will still be able to see it. 

You have the following methods below:

1. Using Tweetdeck

Just you can use this method by using Tweetdeck, a social media management tool developed by Twitter. Follow the steps below:

Step 1: First, search for Tweetdeck on Google or visit the homepage.

Step 2: Then, log in to your Twitter account using Tweetdeck.

Step 3: Next, compose a tweet and click on the “Send” button.

Step 4: Now, in your Tweetdeck dashboard, locate the tweet you want to delete and click on the “More actions” icon (represented by three vertical dots). From the options, select “Delete” to remove the tweet.

2. From Twitter App

Here are the steps you need to follow to delete a direct message from a Twitter chat using the Twitter mobile app: 

🔴 Steps To Follow:

Step 1: Open the Twitter application.

Step 2: Next, you’ll need to log in to your account using the correct credentials.

Step 3: From the home page, click on the envelope icon that’s at the bottom right of the screen.

envelope icon

Step 4: It will take you to the Message section of your Twitter profile.

Click on massage

Step 5: You’ll need to click and open the chat from which you need to delete the direct message.

tap on sms

Step 6: Click and hold the message that you want to delete, then you’ll be given two options in a box.

Step 7: You’ll have to go for the second one, i.e Delete message for you. Click on it and then click on Delete. 

Delete message for you

3. Pretend Your account has been Hacked

If you’ve sent an embarrassing text to someone and were hoping that you would be able to delete it, then you’re wrong. You cannot delete a sent message on Twitter from both sides however you can always pretend that your account was hacked and the hacker might have sent it.

Along with that, you should also mention that you’ve recovered your account. This is the last method you should consider as it involves taking the help of a lie of your account being compromised. 

4. Alternative Method: Delete Your Account

You can delete your account to get rid of the text you’ve sent from both sides.

Once you put your account for deactivation, you’ll get 30 days during which you’ll be able to retrieve it back by logging in to it. Only if you don’t log in, then it will be deleted permanently after the deactivation period. After the deletion of your account, your account’s chat history will get deleted permanently from both sides and will not be visible to anyone anymore. 

🔴 Steps to Delete a Twitter Account:

Step 1: Open the Twitter application.

Step 2: Next, you need to log into your Twitter account.

Step 3: Then click on the profile icon at the top left corner.

Click on the three lines icon

Step 4: Click on Settings and privacy.

Click on Settings and privacy

Step 5: Then, from the list of options, click on Your account.

click on Your account

Step 6: Click on Deactivate Account

Click on Deactivate Account

Step 7: Then click on the red Deactivate button. 

Click on the red Deactivate button

Step 8: Enter your password and click on Deactivate. 

Type password and click deactivate

Step 9: Confirm it by clicking on Yes, Deactivate.

Step 10: You’ll need to wait for 30 days after which your account will get deleted permanently. 

Does deleting a Twitter message delete it on both sides?

When you’re deleting a message, it only gets deleted from your side. It doesn’t disappear from the chat screen to whom you’ve sent. This isn’t a secret because when you’re deleting a direct message from the chat screen, Twitter itself states the fact that ‘This message will be deleted for you. The other people in the conversation will still be able to see it’.

When you’re deleting a message, you don’t get the option to delete it for both sides, unlike other messaging platforms where it allows you to unsend a message that you’ve already sent. 

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. How to delete messages on Twitter on a laptop?

You need to log in to your Twitter account from www.twitter.com and then click on the Messages option. It will open the chat list in the center of the screen. You need to hover your mouse on the message that you want to delete and then click on the three-dot icon beside it. Then, click on Delete for you. Confirm it by clicking on Delete.

2. Does deactivating Twitter delete DMs?

No, when you’re deactivating your account, your DMs are not deleted from your account. You can log in to your account at any time during the deactivation period to see all the messages and chats on your Twitter account. However, after the 30-day deactivation period is over and you don’t log into your account, it will be deleted permanently and your DMs and tweets will be lost too.

Share This Article:

Pranab Sen is founder and author of Techniquehow.com. He is a full-time blogger, everything that gets published is from Pranab's hand. He likes to be a 'social media geek' since 2011 to understand the problems of readers more deeply and giving the solution through his writing.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!