Home » Snapchat » What Happens When You Delete An Unopened Snapchat

What Happens When You Delete An Unopened Snapchat

✎ Key Takes:

» You can delete an unopened message or Snap on Snapchat, that it won’t be visible to others, and the message will be removed from both ends.
» Manually delete messages by opening the Chats section, tapping and holding the message, and selecting the “Delete” option.
» If you want to auto-delete Snaps after viewing, use the “After Viewing” tool to ensure that snaps stay on the Chat for 30 days until viewed, and once viewed, they are deleted within 24 hours.

What Happens When You Delete An Unopened Snapchat:

There are a few things that happen when you delete an unopened snap:

1. The Person Would Not see the Message

If you delete a snap on Snapchat before the person has seen the message, it will be deleted from the chat screen, and the person can not see the Snap in the future.

After you delete the message, there will be a tag showing that you deleted the Message, meaning the person can not see the original Message or the Snap. They see the tag that you deleted a message.

2. Your Message is Deleted from both ends

If you delete the chats’ messages, they will be deleted from both ends, meaning you also can not see the messages or Snaps again.

After sending a snap tap, hold the Message and press “Delete”. It will be deleted from both ends. Even if the person cannot see the Snap within 30 days, it will also be deleted from the chats.

3. You’ll Get a Notification

The recipient may still get a notification that you sent them a snap, but when they try to open it, they’ll see a message saying that the snap has been deleted.

4. Removed from your Chat History

If the recipient hasn’t opened the snap yet, the snap will also be removed from your chat history with them, so you won’t be able to see it either.

💁🏽‍♂️ Note:

Once a snap has been opened, it can no longer be deleted by the sender, and it will remain in the recipient’s chat history until they choose to delete it.

Also, if you’ve saved a snap to your Memories before sending it, deleting the snap won’t remove it from your Memories. However, the snap will no longer be visible to the recipient.

Share This Article:

Pranab Sen is founder and author of Techniquehow.com. He is a full-time blogger, everything that gets published is from Pranab's hand. He likes to be a 'social media geek' since 2011 to understand the problems of readers more deeply and giving the solution through his writing.

Leave a Comment