Your Quick Answer:
Snapchat messages disappear sometimes, this is because Snapchat has rules that delete all the messages or snaps sent or received in up to a maximum of 30 days and a minimum initially after reading.
However, depending on your settings which include deleting after 24 hours or initially after reading, your conversation is set to be deleted automatically. You can even delete the conversation by yourself.
On Snapchat, in some other cases, you would notice some messages would not disappear even if they are read.
How To Fix Snapchat Message Disappeared:
There are points regarding the Snapchat messages if disappeared and below are the conditions:
1. Messages Disappeared Before Opening
The sender may have deleted the message before you had a chance to open it.
The message may have expired if it was set to disappear after a certain amount of time.
The message may have been automatically deleted by Snapchat if the sender’s account was deactivated or if the message violated community guidelines.
🙌🏿 The Best Fixes:
▸ There is no way to retrieve a message that has been deleted by the sender or expired.
▸ Try communicating with the sender to resend the message or let you know before he sends messages.
2. Messages Disappeared From Feed
It’s possible that the message was accidentally swiped away or hidden from your chat feed.
Also, the sender may have deleted the message after it was sent.
🙌🏿 The Best Fixes:
▸ When the sender deleted the message, there is no way to retrieve it.
▸ Check your chat archive to see if the message is still there.
▸ If the message was accidentally swiped away or hidden, you can unhide it by going to your profile settings, selecting “Chat” and then selecting “Hidden Chats”.
3. Messages Disappeared Immediately
If a message disappears immediately after it is sent, it may be due to a bug in the app.
🙌🏿 The Best Fixes:
▸ Try logging out of the app and logging back in to see if the issue persists.
▸ If the issue still cannot be resolved, contact Snapchat support for any help.
Snapchat Message Disappear Checker:
Wait, it’s working…
🔴 How To Use:
Step 1: First of all, open the Snapchat Message Disappear Checker tool.
Step 2: Then, enter the username or ID of the Snapchat account whose message you want to check.
Step 3: After that, click on the ‘Check’ button.
Step 4: Now, you will see that the Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete unopened Snaps after 30 days.
Therefore, if the message was not opened within the last 30 days, it would have been deleted automatically by the Snapchat servers.
Why Did Snapchat Message Disappear Before Opening:
The unique strategy that has been used by an app is that nothing lasts forever, which means messages, and videos will all disappear automatically unless you save them.
Before knowing the concept of 24 hours disappearing or after viewing, you need to understand that Snaps are different from Messages. Due to Snapchat’s default settings, you will be able to manage your conversation.
Let’s know more about:
1. Messages or Chats (For Group Messages)
A conversation with another Snapchat user is set to be disappeared once they are viewed. As per your convenience, you can set the chat to be deleted either immediately after viewing or automatically after 24 hours of viewing. Previously viewed chats will be disappeared if you switch from ‘After 24 hours’ to After viewing.
If someone saves your chat in the conversation box, your messages won’t be deleted immediately & directly. Snapchat is designed to make messages delivered to a group, disappear one day after everyone sees it or one week after the message is sent (if not viewed by all), whichever is earlier.
2. Snaps (Even Unread)
Like Messages, Snaps on Snapchat automatically disappear after all other users have viewed them. In the case of unread snaps, Snapchat servers automatically make them disappear after 30 days. In group chats, unopened/unread snaps will be deleted after 24 hours.
How to Stop Messages from Disappearing Before Reading:
Messages that are sent between each other on Snapchat, is disappeared by default once you have both viewed the messages. If you don’t want your messages to disappear before you view them, you can make changes in the conversation settings.
Note that, best that you will only be able to make changes in expiration time 24 hours after viewing it.
🔴 Step To Use:
To prevent messages from disappearing before they are read, go through the following steps:
Step 1: Open your Snapchat and sign in to your account.
Step 2: Now swipe right from the Camera screen.
Step 3: After sliding, you’ll have seen options, including Map, Chat, Camera, Stories, and Discover. You have to tap on the Chat option.
Step 4: Added users will appear here, in whose chat settings you want to alter, choose it.
Step 5: Now, click where the user’s Bitmoji will be displayed.
Step 6: Here you’ll see the three dots on the top right corner of the page.
Step 7: Multiple options will come in front of you, like Edit Name, Remove Friend, Report, Block, etc. You just need to tap on the Delete chats option.
Step 8: To change between ‘After Viewing’ and ’24 Hours after Viewing’, tap the Delete Chat option.
Note: To make changes in each conversation, you’ll have to do the settings individually. This way you can prevent conversations to disappear after setting up ’24 Hours after Viewing’. Also, note that you & your friend both can change the settings of the conversation.
- What Does Pending Mean On Snapchat: Blocked Or Else?
- What Does Red Or Green Arrow Mean On Snapchat & On Story
- Snapchat Public Profile Viewer: Who Viewed Your Public Profile
- How To Recover My Eyes Only Pictures On Snapchat
- How To Know Who Created Snapchat Group
- Why Can’t I See My Friend’s Story On Snapchat
- Snapchat Friends Limit: Limit Of Friend Request You Can Send
- Does Ghost Mode Hide Your Snap Score?
- Who Unadded You On Snapchat Checker
- Does Snapchat Notify When You Screen Record A Video Call & How To?
- How To Tell If Someone Unadded You On Snapchat
- How To See Everyone Who Unadded You On Snapchat
- How To Remove Snapchat Subscriptions & All At Once
- How To Hide Chat On Snapchat & Secret Message Mean
- How To Decrease Your Snapchat Score