Your Quick Answer:
- Messenger shows suggestions to its users as chat recommendations which are mainly those accounts from your saved contacts which have been uploaded on Messenger.
- But certainly, you can remove those suggestions as it can sometimes be bothersome.
- You can remove the suggestions on Messenger by turning off the uploading of contacts. You can do that by turning the Upload contacts option Off.
- You can also delete the already uploaded contacts from the Manage contacts section to not get any suggestions on Messenger.
For Android devices, the users need to disable the Upload contacts option from the Phone contacts section.
You can also delete the contacts that you’ve uploaded previously to prevent Messenger from having access to your contacts, thus it would no longer be able to display suggestions to you.
In this article, you’ll be able to know the different ways to remove suggestions on Messenger. You can try the steps for both Android and iOS, which are mentioned in precise detail.
Video on How to Remove Suggested People on Messenger:
Watch the video to remove suggested people on Messenger,
How Do The Suggested People Appear?
The suggestions that are displayed by Messenger are actually showing based on the contacts that you upload to your Messenger. After you provide access to Messenger to have access to your contacts by uploading it, Messenger will start to show you suggestions of Facebook accounts that are registered with those numbers that you have in contacts.
Messenger shows you the accounts that are associated with the numbers that you’ve uploaded on Messenger.
Like other apps, Messenger also has the feature where users can upload the device contacts and Messenger would be able to show the accounts that are registered with those uploaded numbers as chat recommendations.
Thus all the suggestions and chat recommendations shown by Messenger are based on those device’s contacts that are uploaded on Messenger.
Remove Suggestions On Messenger – iPhone:
If you want to remove suggestions on the iPhone Messenger you can do it from the application.
Here are two ways that might help:
1. Turn Off Uploading of Contacts:
You can turn off the uploading of contacts on the Messenger app so that no suggestions are displayed to you.
The names that are shown as suggestions are based on the contacts that you’ve uploaded. These are the chat recommendations that Messenger shows to the user.
But it can be removed when you stop uploading your contacts on Messenger.
Unless you give access to Messenger to have access to your contact information, Messenger won’t be able to display suggestions that are based on your contacts. Therefore, if you turn off the Upload contact button by setting it as Off, Messenger will immediately stop having access to your contact information.
You need to perform the simple solution of turning off the uploading of contacts to stop it.
The precise steps for iPhone are mentioned below:
Step 1: Open Messenger on iPhone and then click on your profile icon.
Step 2: You’ll be taken to the profile page of your Messenger account.
Step 3: Next, you need to find the Phone contacts option on that page and tap on it.
Step 4: There you’ll find the Upload contacts option. You need to tap on it and then tap on TURN OFF.
This would immediately turn off uploading contacts in your Messenger account.
2. Manage already Uploaded Contacts:
You need to manage the already uploaded contacts by deleting them so that you don’t get suggestions on Messenger. As the suggested accounts are associated with the uploaded contacts, you need to delete them so that Messenger won’t be able to suggest names that are from your contact list.
Messenger has this annoying feature where it always shows up with suggestions from your contact list which are mainly some chat recommendations but this doesn’t happen when Messenger doesn’t have access to your contacts. Only if you’ve previously uploaded contacts on Messenger, you’ll be displayed with new suggestions.
You need to ensure that no contacts are available on your device on Messenger. For that, you need to erase all the contacts that were uploaded by you on Messenger.
You need to follow the below-mentioned steps:
Step 1: Open the Messenger app on iPhone.
Step 2: Tap on your small-sized profile icon to get into your profile page.
Step 3: You’ll see the option ‘Phone contacts’. You need to tap on that.
Step 4: You’ll find the Manage contacts option on the next page, which you need to tap on.
Step 5: Then tap on the option ‘Delete All Contacts’.
How To Remove Suggestions on Messenger Android?
You can remove the suggestions on Messenger of Android devices by following the two methods mentioned below:
1. Disable uploaded contacts option:
You can remove suggestions on Messenger on android by not giving access to your contacts. You need to disable the Uploaded contacts option on Messenger so that the app doesn’t get any contact to suggest.
As the suggestions are mainly shown because of the uploaded contacts, if you just don’t upload the contacts in the first place and disable the option, you’ll be able to get rid of suggestions.
Even when Messenger asks you to upload contacts by displaying the Upload All Contact button, you should never tap on it. If you do, it will sync your device contacts with Facebook and will start to display suggestions. As you wouldn’t want that, avoid clicking on the Upload All Contact button.
Here are the steps you need to follow to disable the Upload contacts option:
Step 1: Open the Messenger application.
Step 2: Next, head on to your profile by clicking on the profile picture icon on the left top of the screen.
Step 3: You’ll need to scroll down the page to find the option Phone contacts.
Step 4: On the following page, you’ll be displayed with two options. You need to click on Upload contacts and then click on TURN OFF.
It will prevent Messenger from having access to your contact and thus no suggestions will be displayed to you.
2. Delete Already Uploaded Contact:
Another way you can stop Messenger from showing you suggestions on Android is by deleting the contacts from Messenger that have already been uploaded earlier.
As Messenger shows the suggestions related to your uploaded contacts, you can delete them from Messenger, so that no contacts would be available.
You need to delete all your previously uploaded contacts from the Manage Contacts page which would help in getting rid of the suggestions.
Here are the steps to delete uploaded contacts on Messenger of Android:
Step 1: Open the Messenger application on your device.
Step 2: Now head on to the profile page by clicking on the profile picture icon at the top left corner.
Step 3: You need to scroll down until you find the option Phone contacts and then tap on Manage contacts.
Step 4: There you’ll find the option Delete All Contacts. Click on it to delete the previously uploaded contacts.
Step 5: This will remove all the suggestions from Messenger.
After the process gets over, sign out of your Messenger account and then log in again.
The Bottom Lines:
This article explained that you can remove the suggestions displayed on Messenger on both iPhones and Androids. Messenger shows suggestions of Facebook accounts that are registered under the contacts you’ve uploaded on Messenger. Therefore to remove those, you need to turn off the uploading of contacts.
- How to Fix ‘Confirm Your Identity’ on Facebook?
- How to Recover Suspended Facebook Account?
- How to Fix if Facebook Two-Factor Authentication Code not Received?
- This account is also logged into Facebook on this device – FIXED
- How to Unlink Facebook from Instagram?
- How to Poke Someone on Facebook?
- How to Recover your Facebook Account without Email or Phone?
- How to Make All Photos Private On Facebook at Once?
- How to Hide and Unhide Messages on Facebook Messenger?
- How to See Who Viewed Your Featured Photos on Facebook?